John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Sun, 05 Apr 2020 15:04:32 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel c1048b7686312859d7e361437a60a120 The Unsung Heroes for 04/01/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/the-unsung-heroes Wed, 01 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Congress passed and the president signed a $2 trillion "stimulus" bill.</p> <p>"Not enough!" shrieked politicians. They said the government must do more.<p>Updated: Wed Apr 01, 2020</p> 33fd8d63607dfbdec0a7eff88d0b00b7 The Red Tape Pandemic for 03/25/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/the-red-tape-pandemic Wed, 25 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Coronavirus is frightening.<p>Updated: Wed Mar 25, 2020</p> 59bf365dc709bfc0290122bfea312f90 Price Gouging for 03/18/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/price-gouging-9a8c3 Wed, 18 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>"We don't have any...!" Fill in the blank. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 18, 2020</p> 98d78ad43a89efba8e92954bb9c03adc Government Outlaws Freelance Work for 03/11/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/government-outlaws-freelance-work Wed, 11 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Freelance jobs are "feudalism," says California Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez. </p> <p>She persuaded California's legislature to pass a new law reclassifying freelance workers as employees. That means many people who hire them must now give them benefits like overtime, unemployment insurance, etc. Politicians said it would help freelancers a lot. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 11, 2020</p> 7c49de20be418ce85dd8175dfc245e9a Forbidden Parenting for 03/04/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/forbidden-parenting Wed, 04 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p></p><p>South Carolina mom Debra Harrell worked at McDonald's. She couldn't afford day care for Regina, her 9-year-old daughter, so she took her to work.<p>Updated: Wed Mar 04, 2020</p> 867f22d2bb6a976e0169795547bec5af Bloomberg the Nanny for 02/26/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/20/bloomberg-the-nanny Wed, 26 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p></p><p>Good for Mike Bloomberg. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 26, 2020</p> 22fd86fb6fe8f4338db654e3235bf0ab Revolutionary Bernie Sanders for 02/19/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/20/revolutionary-bernie-sanders Wed, 19 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Bernie Sanders leads the race for the Democratic nomination. </p> <p>He may become America's first self-described "democratic socialist" president. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 19, 2020</p> ec4012b7409f3df7ce3c20f37632cf09 Trump: Good, Bad, Ugly for 02/12/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/20/trump-good-bad-ugly Wed, 12 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>President Donald Trump "saved the United States," says former Trump adviser Steve Bannon. </p> <p>He's one of the "smartest, most clever, and successful" presidents, says Fox's Jeanine Pirro. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 12, 2020</p> aa14d3563e4052918b90f468fba63df1 Bad Law for 02/05/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/20/bad-law Wed, 05 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>A law in South Carolina bans playing pinball if you're under 18. That's just one of America's many ridiculous laws restricting freedom. </p> <p>"There is a role for the government in keeping people safe from actual criminals, people who commit murder, robbery," says Rafael Mangual, a "tough-on-crime" guy at the Manhattan Institute. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 05, 2020</p> 906ac49c3882ffc644c78a9d844405dc Freebies for Everyone for 01/29/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/20/freebies-for-everyone Wed, 29 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>The Iowa Caucus, the real start of the 2020 presidential primaries, is next week. Who's favored to win? Sadly, as I write this,&#160;<a href="https://electionbettingodds.com/" target="_blank">the smart money</a>&#160;says it's the candidate who's promised Americans the most "free" stuff. </p> <p>Six months ago, my staff and I tallied the candidates' promises. All wanted to give away trillions &#8212; or more accurately, wanted government to tax you and spend your money on the candidates' schemes. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 29, 2020</p> 1c17b7dca172e029d8c38e6590e9221a Everything on Demand for 01/22/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/20/everything-on-demand Wed, 22 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Reporters complain about business. We overlook the constant improvements in our lives made possible by greedy businesses competing for your money. Think about how our access to entertainment has improved.</p> <p>"When I was a kid," says Sean Malone in a new video for the Foundation for Economic Education, "my TV broadcast options were PBS, Fox, ABC, NBC and CBS. Depending on the weather, it was hit or miss whether or not they were even watchable."<p>Updated: Wed Jan 22, 2020</p> dc26c2130e3dc28b25783b224c436d33 Licensed to Fail for 01/15/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/20/licensed-to-fail Wed, 15 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p>People who want to work should be allowed to work. That includes people who once went to jail. </p> <p>With President Donald Trump's support, Congress spends your money giving ex-cons "employment assistance." </p> <p>Why bother? State laws often make such employment impossible. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 15, 2020</p> a0fae1eb040c7cedce1d675049783d4e Congressional Grandstanding for 01/08/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/20/congressional-grandstanding Wed, 08 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Congressional hearings were created to educate lawmakers so they have knowledge before they pass bills or impeach a president. </p> <p>Not today. Today, hardly any education happens. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 08, 2020</p> 356d327c01790bd0a2febfa649d027d3 3 Tips for 2020 for 01/01/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/3-tips-for-2020 Wed, 01 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>I learned three new things this year that made my life better! </p> <p>I share them with you here, hoping they make your 2020 easier. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 01, 2020</p> 49700aa0c77b539157f1f55f3748db7f Give, Don't Govern for 12/25/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/give-dont-govern Wed, 25 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>This week, children may learn about that greedy man, Ebenezer Scrooge. Scrooge is selfish until ghosts scare him into thinking about others' well-being, not just his own. </p> <p>Good for the ghosts. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 25, 2019</p> 01a9321d2fdb6760eb64eb56a6596f02 The Case Against Socialism for 12/18/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/the-case-against-socialism Wed, 18 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Sen. Rand Paul just wrote a book, "The Case Against Socialism." </p> <p>I thought that case was already decided, since socialist countries failed so spectacularly. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 18, 2019</p> 8ef7b3ab695f6c1dfa16f11b1e9680f0 The Forgotten Debt for 12/11/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/the-forgotten-debt Wed, 11 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Congress and the media obsess endlessly over whether President Donald Trump should be impeached. </p> <p>Both ignore $23 trillion of bigger problems. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 11, 2019</p> 3ee403d4728cd4d0702d68ac99757575 Hollywood Socialism for 12/04/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/hollywood-socialism Wed, 04 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Hollywood is now obsessing about increasing ethnic and gender diversity. Good. There's been nasty racial and gender discrimination in the movie business. </p> <p>Unfortunately, Hollywood has no interest in one type of diversity: diversity of thought. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 04, 2019</p> 060acc36b0b6d223543fd73d1dcff89c Thanks, Private Property! for 11/27/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/19/thanks-private-property Wed, 27 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Families will argue this Thanksgiving. </p> <p>Such arguments have a long tradition. <p>Updated: Wed Nov 27, 2019</p> bbdd0be3892935389d88b5617107df97 Climate Myths for 11/20/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/19/climate-myths Wed, 20 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>"How dare you? You have stolen my dreams and my childhood!" insisted teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg at the United Nations. "We are in the beginning of a mass extinction!" </p> <p>Many people say that we're destroying the Earth. <p>Updated: Wed Nov 20, 2019</p>