John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Tue, 21 Jan 2020 13:40:03 -0800 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 1c17b7dca172e029d8c38e6590e9221a Everything on Demand for 01/22/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/20/everything-on-demand Wed, 22 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Reporters complain about business. We overlook the constant improvements in our lives made possible by greedy businesses competing for your money. Think about how our access to entertainment has improved.</p> <p>"When I was a kid," says Sean Malone in a new video for the Foundation for Economic Education, "my TV broadcast options were PBS, Fox, ABC, NBC and CBS. Depending on the weather, it was hit or miss whether or not they were even watchable."<p>Updated: Wed Jan 22, 2020</p> dc26c2130e3dc28b25783b224c436d33 Licensed to Fail for 01/15/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/20/licensed-to-fail Wed, 15 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p>People who want to work should be allowed to work. That includes people who once went to jail. </p> <p>With President Donald Trump's support, Congress spends your money giving ex-cons "employment assistance." </p> <p>Why bother? State laws often make such employment impossible. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 15, 2020</p> a0fae1eb040c7cedce1d675049783d4e Congressional Grandstanding for 01/08/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/20/congressional-grandstanding Wed, 08 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Congressional hearings were created to educate lawmakers so they have knowledge before they pass bills or impeach a president. </p> <p>Not today. Today, hardly any education happens. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 08, 2020</p> 356d327c01790bd0a2febfa649d027d3 3 Tips for 2020 for 01/01/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/3-tips-for-2020 Wed, 01 Jan 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>I learned three new things this year that made my life better! </p> <p>I share them with you here, hoping they make your 2020 easier. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 01, 2020</p> 49700aa0c77b539157f1f55f3748db7f Give, Don't Govern for 12/25/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/give-dont-govern Wed, 25 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>This week, children may learn about that greedy man, Ebenezer Scrooge. Scrooge is selfish until ghosts scare him into thinking about others' well-being, not just his own. </p> <p>Good for the ghosts. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 25, 2019</p> 01a9321d2fdb6760eb64eb56a6596f02 The Case Against Socialism for 12/18/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/the-case-against-socialism Wed, 18 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Sen. Rand Paul just wrote a book, "The Case Against Socialism." </p> <p>I thought that case was already decided, since socialist countries failed so spectacularly. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 18, 2019</p> 8ef7b3ab695f6c1dfa16f11b1e9680f0 The Forgotten Debt for 12/11/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/the-forgotten-debt Wed, 11 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Congress and the media obsess endlessly over whether President Donald Trump should be impeached. </p> <p>Both ignore $23 trillion of bigger problems. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 11, 2019</p> 3ee403d4728cd4d0702d68ac99757575 Hollywood Socialism for 12/04/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/19/hollywood-socialism Wed, 04 Dec 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Hollywood is now obsessing about increasing ethnic and gender diversity. Good. There's been nasty racial and gender discrimination in the movie business. </p> <p>Unfortunately, Hollywood has no interest in one type of diversity: diversity of thought. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 04, 2019</p> 060acc36b0b6d223543fd73d1dcff89c Thanks, Private Property! for 11/27/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/19/thanks-private-property Wed, 27 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Families will argue this Thanksgiving. </p> <p>Such arguments have a long tradition. <p>Updated: Wed Nov 27, 2019</p> bbdd0be3892935389d88b5617107df97 Climate Myths for 11/20/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/19/climate-myths Wed, 20 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>"How dare you? You have stolen my dreams and my childhood!" insisted teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg at the United Nations. "We are in the beginning of a mass extinction!" </p> <p>Many people say that we're destroying the Earth. <p>Updated: Wed Nov 20, 2019</p> 972af57980eac3e15102467dfd0db3d3 Mandatory Shortages for 11/12/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/19/mandatory-shortages Tue, 12 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Governments create problems. Then they complain about them. </p> <p>"A public health crisis exists," says Kentucky's government, citing a report that found "a shortage of ambulance providers." <p>Updated: Tue Nov 12, 2019</p> 51c9bb3f5d0fbe40d583fd040fa9f2f1 Set Money Free for 11/06/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/19/set-money-free Wed, 06 Nov 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>House members summoned Facebook's Mark Zuckerberg to Washington, D.C., and grilled him &#8212; harshly &#8212; about his plan to create a new currency, Libra. </p> <p>"Why should we trust you?!" asked Congressman Mike Doyle. <p>Updated: Wed Nov 06, 2019</p> 275174f61b93e8057904c5daa6b920fc Ending Wars for 10/30/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/19/ending-wars Wed, 30 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Four years ago, the media were talking about a "Libertarian Moment." </p> <p>I had high hopes! <p>Updated: Wed Oct 30, 2019</p> 437ce6379aa59b849fc6ed37ecaf2169 Better Than a Loan for 10/23/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/19/better-than-a-loan Wed, 23 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Student loan debt keeps growing. </p> <p>There is a better solution than the ones politicians offer, which stick the taxpayer or the loan lenders with the whole bill. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 23, 2019</p> 17abdd75b82ad04525dd49bb14712e2e Different Sexes for 10/16/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/19/different-sexes Wed, 16 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The media keep telling us: There's no difference between male and female brains. </p> <p>I don't believe it. Many of you must be skeptical, too. Seventeen million people watched my old ABC show on sex differences, almost as many as watched "Game of Thrones." <p>Updated: Wed Oct 16, 2019</p> 42b2b16135038657b73a8260436ab321 Domestic and Foreign Wars for 10/09/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/19/domestic-and-foreign-wars Wed, 09 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Democratic presidential candidate Rep. Tulsi Gabbard is controversial within her party. </p> <p>She says the U.S. should talk to its enemies. She was criticized for meeting with Syrian dictator Bashar Assad. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 09, 2019</p> 643f5992ccc273d56185845c903dbeea Stop Blocking Us! for 10/02/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/19/stop-blocking-us Wed, 02 Oct 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I now make my living by&#160;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/johnstossel" target="_blank">releasing short videos</a>&#160;on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. </p> <p>I assumed you who subscribed to my feed or became Facebook "friends" would receive that video every Tuesday. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 02, 2019</p> 9c29b6396e52d5225c92222857bc6a57 New Countries at Sea for 09/25/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/19/new-countries-at-sea Wed, 25 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>When political arguments aren't getting you anywhere, what can you do? </p> <p>Start your own country! <p>Updated: Wed Sep 25, 2019</p> 6858c5f0da9e2c494e172d25b7881a28 Good News for 09/18/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/19/good-news-a4938 Wed, 18 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I rarely watch cable news anymore. It's all hysteria, all the time. </p> <p>CNN: "We are destroying the planet." <p>Updated: Wed Sep 18, 2019</p> 78547149668f30a679d8b4fa00d66ec3 Better Schools for 09/11/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/19/better-schools Wed, 11 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>With most services, you get to shop around, but rarely can you do that with government-run schools. </p> <p>Philadelphia mom Elaine Wells was upset to learn that there were fights every day in the school her son attended. So she walked him over to another school. <p>Updated: Wed Sep 11, 2019</p>