John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Wed, 18 Sep 2019 01:34:43 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 6858c5f0da9e2c494e172d25b7881a28 Good News for 09/18/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/19/good-news-a4938 Wed, 18 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I rarely watch cable news anymore. It's all hysteria, all the time. </p> <p>CNN: "We are destroying the planet." <p>Updated: Wed Sep 18, 2019</p> 78547149668f30a679d8b4fa00d66ec3 Better Schools for 09/11/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/19/better-schools Wed, 11 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>With most services, you get to shop around, but rarely can you do that with government-run schools. </p> <p>Philadelphia mom Elaine Wells was upset to learn that there were fights every day in the school her son attended. So she walked him over to another school. <p>Updated: Wed Sep 11, 2019</p> 799e3783a32b1fb6380d2e7b55e2e7fe Recovering from Labor for 09/04/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/19/recovering-from-labor Wed, 04 Sep 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>On Labor Day, did you celebrate workers? More likely, you made it a day of rest.</p> <p>Fine. It's good to have a choice.<p>Updated: Wed Sep 04, 2019</p> 6b4303921db84618b4129c1b3fd78712 Bad Law Keeps People Poor for 08/28/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/19/bad-law-keeps-people-poor Wed, 28 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Why does most of Africa stay poor while other parts of the world prosper? </p> <p>People blame things like climate, the history of colonialism, racism, etc. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 28, 2019</p> 322133675cf12636c266fc39d46d1b80 Trump's Promise for 08/21/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/19/trumps-promise Wed, 21 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>President Donald Trump promised he'd get rid of bad rules. </p> <p>"Remove the anchor dragging us down!" he said when campaigning for president. "We're going to cancel every needless job-killing regulation!" <p>Updated: Wed Aug 21, 2019</p> babf78e5178e4f28016f613aa549e8bf Sell an Organ for 08/14/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/19/sell-an-organ Wed, 14 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Have you volunteered to be an organ donor? I did. </p> <p>I just clicked the box on the government form that asks if, once I die, I'm willing to donate my organs to someone who needs them. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 14, 2019</p> 0f82403932a76192f2803e283e135bed Stupid News for 08/07/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/19/stupid-news Wed, 07 Aug 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>"Fake news!" shouts the president. His supporters cheer. </p> <p>That drives my colleagues into a frenzy of self-absorbed handwringing: "Threats to press freedom ... press persecution!" <p>Updated: Wed Aug 07, 2019</p> 05510543707f1e04f82c5fdec9e13bc4 Free Stuff! for 07/31/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/19/free-stuff Wed, 31 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Never before have presidential candidates offered voters so much "free" stuff. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 31, 2019</p> a8c3d4a46fa9942d4238d2f2017f10e1 Wages War for 07/24/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/19/wages-war Wed, 24 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Sen. Bernie Sanders' presidential campaign was just disrupted by campaign workers demanding the same $15 per hour Sanders demands government force all employers to pay. </p> <p>It serves him right.<p>Updated: Wed Jul 24, 2019</p> 8810cf7e51e449d268cabc3bedcb7764 Gagging Investigators for 07/17/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/19/gagging-investigators Wed, 17 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Recording events from public land shouldn't be a crime.<p>Updated: Wed Jul 17, 2019</p> 01949b70cc1332e4408f2c1d10a21256 Government Bullies for 07/10/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/19/government-bullies Wed, 10 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The city of Dunedin, Florida, wants Jim Ficken's home. </p> <p>Ficken's mom died, so he went to South Carolina to take care of her estate. He asked a friend to look after his house. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 10, 2019</p> d525330f72ad169541d34f45e7a601b0 Fourth vs. Force for 07/03/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/19/fourth-vs-force Wed, 03 Jul 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Happy Fourth of July! </p> <p>We have reason to celebrate. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 03, 2019</p> 5a97ce219afff185c8c269b8d9c5557d Candidates' Bad Ideas for 06/26/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/19/candidates-bad-ideas Wed, 26 Jun 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>So many people want to be president. Unfortunately, many have terrible ideas. </p> <p>Sen. Kamala Harris wants companies to prove they pay men and women equally. "Penalties if they don't!" she shouts. But there are lots of reasons, other than sexism, why companies pay some men more than women. <p>Updated: Wed Jun 26, 2019</p> 86de1c9960a542c60d978fcf56dd42f2 Moral Capitalism for 06/19/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/19/moral-capitalism Wed, 19 Jun 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Presidential candidates and the media keep telling people "it's immoral" that a few rich people have so much more money than everyone else. </p> <p>They talk as if it doesn't matter what the rich did to get the money. Instead, the fact that they are rich is itself immoral. <p>Updated: Wed Jun 19, 2019</p> 488968a5e352406260edd85205741f9a Real X-Men for 06/12/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/19/real-x-men Wed, 12 Jun 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Soon, some of you will try to make "better babies." </p> <p>Already, people pay labs to examine embryos so they can pick ones with DNA they like. Some screen for gender or eye color. Some screen out certain diseases. <p>Updated: Wed Jun 12, 2019</p> b0beef9a0a0f04dcc2f78f38e0efc68e Paid Time Off for 06/05/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/19/paid-time-off Wed, 05 Jun 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Both Republican and Democratic politicians want government to "do more" to give parents paid time off. </p> <p>"This is not a women's issue. It's a family issue," says Ivanka Trump. <p>Updated: Wed Jun 05, 2019</p> 5d04232f60320a44127669671b6c07af 'Victims' Dictate for 05/29/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/19/victims-dictate Wed, 29 May 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>"I don't feel safe," says a&#160;<a href="https://www.facebook.com/ourharvard/videos/875475302804077" target="_blank">Harvard student in a video</a>. </p> <p>What threatens her? The dean of her Harvard dormitory, law professor Ronald Sullivan, agreed to be part of accused sexual harasser Harvey Weinstein's legal defense team. <p>Updated: Wed May 29, 2019</p> 3b625f18002ed06a7d2781dc424c60ce In Money We Trust? for 05/22/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/19/in-money-we-trust Wed, 22 May 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Look at the dollar bills in your wallet. They say they are "legal tender for all debts."</p> <p>But are they? What makes them valuable? What makes them worth anything?<p>Updated: Wed May 22, 2019</p> 52eb8f9a0c5e48f708b1cc42bc39b431 Sex 'Trafficking' Panic for 05/15/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/19/sex-trafficking-panic Wed, 15 May 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>When police charged New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft with soliciting prostitution, the press said the police rescued sex slaves. </p> <p>"They were women who were from China, who were forced into sex slavery," said Trevor Noah on "The Daily Show." <p>Updated: Wed May 15, 2019</p> d1038a3c5490b16cdf45ed4af94b5afd Independent Journalists for 05/08/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/19/independent-journalists Wed, 08 May 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>"I'm not going to let them bully me out of reporting," said Tim Pool after recording an Antifa protest where angry activists cursed at him. There might have been violence, but Antifa's "de-escalation team" protected him, he says. </p> <p>That surprised me. "Antifa has a de-escalation team?" I ask Pool in my latest internet video. <p>Updated: Wed May 08, 2019</p>