John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Thu, 24 May 2018 08:37:50 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 20cc9f4483f1d2701f946f87940f2519 The Innocence Project for 05/23/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/the-innocence-project Wed, 23 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>On TV crime shows like "CSI," "NCIS" and "Law & Order," science gets the bad guys. </p> <p>In real life, "science" often ensnares the innocent. <p>Updated: Wed May 23, 2018</p> 7e18508f151ed6b760eb51b4114c16ef Amazon Fights Back for 05/16/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/amazon-fights-back Wed, 16 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Seattle is worried about the well-being of the poor and mentally ill people living there, so it's going to drive businesses out of town. </p> <p>OK, that's not how the politicians describe their plan, but that's probably how it will work out. <p>Updated: Wed May 16, 2018</p> 2099ce8223053d18c4de95dd58b0078c Hating DeVos for 05/09/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/hating-devos Wed, 09 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>People hate Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos. </p> <p>When she spoke at the Kennedy School of Government, students held up signs calling her a "white supremacist." <p>Updated: Wed May 09, 2018</p> 3b6cb55027656c5e4fb70d29614ab12b Propaganda Networks for 05/02/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/propaganda-networks Wed, 02 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Why does American journalist Abby Martin report for media run by socialist murderers? </p> <p>Martin once worked for RT, Russia's state-run news network. <p>Updated: Fri May 11, 2018</p> 8876d562d401504e83e32b4921323385 Teachers With Guns for 04/25/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/18/teachers-with-guns Wed, 25 Apr 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>What should be done about school shootings? </p> <p>After the horrible shooting in Parkland, Florida, President Trump suggested that some teachers carry guns. "We need to let people know, you come in to our schools &#8212; you're gonna be dead." <p>Updated: Wed Apr 25, 2018</p> 807baa415c5a6bc5d3968b2723033534 Hidden Taxes for 04/18/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/18/hidden-taxes Wed, 18 Apr 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The cable bill was the last straw, says Kristin Tate. "That's the one that really made me mad." </p> <p>Comcast included $36 in charges for mysterious things like "utility tax" and "government access fee." <p>Updated: Wed Apr 18, 2018</p> 80782d1b24ccd7c6f2733565f6cf58b3 War on Science for 04/11/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/18/war-on-science Wed, 11 Apr 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>We've been told conservatives don't believe in science and that there's a "Republican war on science." </p> <p>But John Tierney, who's written about science for The New York Times for 25 years and now writes for the Manhattan Institute's City Journal, told me in my latest online video, "The real war on science is the one from the left." <p>Updated: Wed Apr 11, 2018</p> 3eaa1efccd00f272182b21207494fbe9 Poisonous Taxes for 04/04/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/18/poisonous-taxes Wed, 04 Apr 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Soda will cost you more in Philadelphia, Seattle, Boulder, Colorado, and a bunch of California cities because politicians in those places voted to tax it. </p> <p>The social engineers claim soda taxes will "reduce obesity," "lower diabetes rates," "reduce medical costs," etc. But the politicians' main goal is to bring in money. <p>Updated: Wed Apr 04, 2018</p> b46e270f38e91685d99dacd6ff96eb43 The Red Pill for 03/28/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/18/the-red-pill Wed, 28 Mar 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p>In the movie "The Matrix," swallowing a red pill reveals the truth, while downing a blue pill leaves you trapped in illusion. </p> <p>Today, in the parlance of some political activists, "taking the red pill" means seeing the lies of mainstream media &#8212; and learning the truth. </p> <p>"People don't care to watch CNN anymore: People pay attention to YouTubers," says Candace Owens. Owens is a young black woman who created a YouTube site she calls Red Pill Black. "My second video went trending worldwide with 80 million views." <p>Updated: Wed Mar 28, 2018</p> c9f3b5ed81ff1fc7c0cb87c9cdb19e66 Climate Exit for 03/21/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/18/climate-exit Wed, 21 Mar 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>President Trump's pick to be the new secretary of state, Mike Pompeo, is not a fan of the Paris climate agreement, the treaty that claims it will slow global warning by reducing the world's carbon dioxide emissions. Politicians from most of the world's nations signed the deal, and President Obama said "we may see this as the moment that we finally decided to save our planet." </p> <p>That's dubious. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 21, 2018</p> 09cc0bcbe8285b265835776a389fd9ef Lies About Trade for 03/14/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/18/lies-about-trade Wed, 14 Mar 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p>Maybe Donald Trump is such a powerful communicator and pot-stirrer that other countries, embarrassed by their own trade barriers, will eliminate them.</p> <p>Then I will thank the president for the wonderful thing he did. Genuine free trade will be a recipe for wonderful economic growth.</p> <p>But I fear the opposite: a trade war and stagnation &#8212; because much of what Trump and his followers say is economically absurd.<p>Updated: Wed Mar 14, 2018</p> 040259bc533335943e2fccaf76fadd42 No Trade Barriers for 03/07/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/18/no-trade-barriers Wed, 07 Mar 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>No, President Trump, it's not true that if you tax imported steel, we "will have protection for the first time in a long while." </p> <p>The opposite is true. If you raise tariffs on steel and aluminum, you punish consumers. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 07, 2018</p> 0c94f5f3cf362cd5797dfa7b7adf0d9d The Political Oscars for 02/28/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/18/the-political-oscars Wed, 28 Feb 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Sunday, Hollywood sycophants give out Oscars. </p> <p>But they will miss some of the better performances of the year because Academy Awards just go to movie actors. They leave out political actors. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 28, 2018</p> 0e7dac8593d599639cae06e75adbad8a Pay Your Dues! for 02/21/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/18/pay-your-dues Wed, 21 Feb 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p>If your workplace is a union shop, are you <i> forced </i> to pay union dues? Next week, the Supreme Court will hear arguments about that.</p> <p>When I worked at CBS and ABC, I was ordered to join the American Federation of Radio and TV Artists. That union had won a vote that gave them the right to speak for all reporters. I said, "I'm no 'artist.' I'm a reporter! I won't join!" But my bosses said they couldn't pay me unless I did. </p> <p>In right-to-work states, unions can't force people to join. But only 28 states are right to work. Aging socialist bureaucracies like New York state are not among them. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 21, 2018</p> b8f7b67673d2a6b95c407661630ec954 Success Academy for 02/14/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/18/success-academy Wed, 14 Feb 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Kids who attend New York City's Success Academy charter schools do remarkably well. </p> <p>"We are No. 1 in student achievement in the state," says founder Eva Moskowitz, "outperforming all the wealthy suburbs." <p>Updated: Wed Feb 14, 2018</p> 574c37155630df1b066ef633545c97ec Silk Road for 02/07/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/18/silk-road Wed, 07 Feb 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Ross Ulbricht was a quiet nerd &#8212; an Eagle Scout who never cursed.</p> <p>Then he became a libertarian, and he decided, "I want to use economic theory as a means to abolish the use of coercion." <p>Updated: Wed Feb 07, 2018</p> ef27c88151701cef991bd67843b6024d Freedom Ranking for 01/31/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/freedom-ranking Wed, 31 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Is America the world's freest country? Sadly, no. </p> <p>When researchers first started doing detailed international comparisons, the USA came in second or third. This year, however, we ranked 17th. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 31, 2018</p> 2dc7ff7667187f251ea7615696a2353d Keep It Closed! for 01/24/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/keep-it-closed Wed, 24 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>The government is open again. That's too bad. </p> <p>One day, one of these shutdowns should be permanent. We would still have far more government than the Founding Fathers envisioned. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 24, 2018</p> b174725affda876f00d23d01c1f07329 Selling Hate for 01/17/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/selling-hate Wed, 17 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Who will warn Americans about hate groups? The media know: the Southern Poverty Law Center. </p> <p>SPLC, based in Alabama, calls itself "the premier" group monitoring hate. Give us money, they say, and they will "fight the hate that thrives in our country." <p>Updated: Wed Jan 17, 2018</p> 68804105ace950614c9bfda8fcc76a8f Punish Poor People for 01/10/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/punish-poor-people Wed, 10 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Store owner Kamal Saleh was just hit with thousands of dollars in fines. </p> <p>His crime? He sold three cigars for $8.89. "Too cheap!" say New York City bureaucrats. "The cigars should have cost 11 cents more." <p>Updated: Wed Jan 10, 2018</p>