John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Thu, 02 Jul 2020 14:20:17 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 7754693b1f32ab4756cb7d5098bf83d2 A Reason to Protest for 07/01/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/20/a-reason-to-protest Wed, 01 Jul 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Protesters say America's criminal justice system is unfair.</p> <p>It is.<p>Updated: Wed Jul 01, 2020</p> 802b85a4f462cbdab3223a8ba0ca53c5 The New Censors for 06/24/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/20/the-new-censors Wed, 24 Jun 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Do you say what you think? That's risky! You may get fired!</p> <p>You've probably heard about a New York Times editor resigning after approving an opinion piece by Senator Tom Cotton that suggested the military to step in to end riots. <p>Updated: Wed Jun 24, 2020</p> d4cfe0a7a91d9c6ddf1fcd01424d9543 Bad Cops -- Bad Unions for 06/17/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/20/bad-cops-bad-unions Wed, 17 Jun 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>For my&#160;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S23DiBIHw1g" target="_blank">internet video </a>this week, my staff showed me clips of violent cops.</p> <p>It's not just Derek Chauvin kneeling on George Floyd's neck for almost <i>nine minutes</i> &#8212; it's the other cops who just watch.<p>Updated: Wed Jun 17, 2020</p> 437fa9135a88fcd07d7e0c22f1781d05 Let Them Risk Their Lives for 06/10/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/20/let-them-risk-their-lives Wed, 10 Jun 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Deaths from COVID-19 are dropping, but we probably can't resume normal life until someone develops a vaccine. Experts say it will take at least 12 to 18 months.<p>Updated: Wed Jun 10, 2020</p> 391fcfcfbc7dd77f0bbf4204b228d243 Race and Riots for 06/03/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/20/race-and-riots Wed, 03 Jun 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>"No justice, no peace!" they shout. Then they break windows.</p> <p>It makes me furious.<p>Updated: Wed Jun 03, 2020</p> 7c16fbbe87f673d89dc8213d6ac6b389 A Different Presidential Candidate for 05/27/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/20/a-different-presidential-candidate Wed, 27 May 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>We have a choice!</p> <p>Next presidential election, we don't have to decide between two big-spending candidates, neither of whom has expressed much interest in <i>limited</i> government.<p>Updated: Wed May 27, 2020</p> a22870d897b73542fd712840cda9c45a Shutdown's Silver Lining for 05/20/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/20/shutdowns-silver-lining Wed, 20 May 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The government has closed most schools.</p> <p>So, more parents are teaching kids at home.<p>Updated: Wed May 20, 2020</p> 123e0766b50ba0eba800893b090cc1eb You'll Freeze in the Dark! for 05/13/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/20/youll-freeze-in-the-dark Wed, 13 May 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Last Sunday, Mother's Day, made me think how my mom warned me, as a young teen: "Work hard! Or you'll freeze in the dark!"</p> <p>Sometimes, the warning ended, "Or you'll starve in the cold."<p>Updated: Wed May 13, 2020</p> 14355a46fb33caeeb5e07ff5e30787e8 Ban This! No, Never Mind! for 05/06/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/20/ban-this-no-never-mind Wed, 06 May 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Recently, many politicians were in such a hurry to ban plastic bags. </p> <p>California and Hawaii banned them, then New York. Then Oregon, Connecticut, Maine and Vermont passed laws against them. More than 400 cities did, too.<p>Updated: Wed May 06, 2020</p> 8abda5436f0a0807bdc6c93571265fc4 Let People Try Gelsolin! for 04/29/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/20/let-people-try-gelsolin Wed, 29 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>We need new drugs to fight COVID-19 and other diseases. But our government's approval process makes that too hard.</p> <p>This year's pandemic got regulators to say they'll speed the approval process. The FDA adopted&#160;<a href="https://www.fda.gov/emergency-preparedness-and-response/mcm-legal-regulatory-and-policy-framework/emergency-use-authorization" target="_blank">Emergency Use Authorization</a>&#160;to speed up approval of some tests, medical equipment and ventilators.<p>Updated: Wed Apr 29, 2020</p> 01c752c699bcc3a8209a1d7ddb1470e0 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuzPrhnaiYE for 04/22/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/20/httpswwwyoutubecomwatchvhuzprhnaiye Wed, 22 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I'm "social distancing." I stay away from people.</p> <p>I do it voluntarily.<p>Updated: Wed Apr 22, 2020</p> 85dbc3d884e2cfcfaa8d7c45a095d41c China's Tech Totalitarianism for 04/15/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/20/chinas-tech-totalitarianism Wed, 15 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The media tell us China "beat coronavirus."</p> <p>I don't believe it. The Chinese government lies. AEI's&#160;<a href="https://www.aei.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/Estimating-the-True-Number-of-Chinas-COVID-19-Cases.pdf" target="_blank">Derek Scissors</a>&#160;argues that they've underreported the number of COVID-19 cases by millions.<p>Updated: Wed Apr 15, 2020</p> 8942d06dac0c60e5707cd04d14b94648 Bankrupting America for 04/08/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/20/bankrupting-america Wed, 08 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Two weeks ago, President Donald Trump signed the largest stimulus bill in U.S. history: more than $2 trillion.</p> <p>For once, both Republicans and Democrats agreed. The Senate voted 96-0. The House didn't even bother with a formal vote.<p>Updated: Wed Apr 08, 2020</p> c1048b7686312859d7e361437a60a120 The Unsung Heroes for 04/01/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/the-unsung-heroes Wed, 01 Apr 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Congress passed and the president signed a $2 trillion "stimulus" bill.</p> <p>"Not enough!" shrieked politicians. They said the government must do more.<p>Updated: Wed Apr 01, 2020</p> 33fd8d63607dfbdec0a7eff88d0b00b7 The Red Tape Pandemic for 03/25/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/the-red-tape-pandemic Wed, 25 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Coronavirus is frightening.<p>Updated: Wed Mar 25, 2020</p> 59bf365dc709bfc0290122bfea312f90 Price Gouging for 03/18/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/price-gouging-9a8c3 Wed, 18 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>"We don't have any...!" Fill in the blank. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 18, 2020</p> 98d78ad43a89efba8e92954bb9c03adc Government Outlaws Freelance Work for 03/11/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/government-outlaws-freelance-work Wed, 11 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Freelance jobs are "feudalism," says California Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez. </p> <p>She persuaded California's legislature to pass a new law reclassifying freelance workers as employees. That means many people who hire them must now give them benefits like overtime, unemployment insurance, etc. Politicians said it would help freelancers a lot. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 11, 2020</p> 7c49de20be418ce85dd8175dfc245e9a Forbidden Parenting for 03/04/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/20/forbidden-parenting Wed, 04 Mar 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p></p><p>South Carolina mom Debra Harrell worked at McDonald's. She couldn't afford day care for Regina, her 9-year-old daughter, so she took her to work.<p>Updated: Wed Mar 04, 2020</p> 867f22d2bb6a976e0169795547bec5af Bloomberg the Nanny for 02/26/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/20/bloomberg-the-nanny Wed, 26 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p></p><p>Good for Mike Bloomberg. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 26, 2020</p> 22fd86fb6fe8f4338db654e3235bf0ab Revolutionary Bernie Sanders for 02/19/2020 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/20/revolutionary-bernie-sanders Wed, 19 Feb 2020 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Bernie Sanders leads the race for the Democratic nomination. </p> <p>He may become America's first self-described "democratic socialist" president. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 19, 2020</p>