John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Sat, 24 Jun 2017 10:09:08 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 1104e800d995f2b6d14fffc24bac210c 'Stingy' Jeff Bezos for 06/21/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/17/stingy-jeff-bezos Wed, 21 Jun 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Thursday, right before Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos announced he'd acquire Whole Foods for $13.7 billion, he tweeted a "request for ideas" for "philanthropy strategy." If you have suggestions re "helping people in the here and now... reply to this tweet." </p> <p>Here's my reply: Don't do it, Jeff! <p>Updated: Wed Jun 21, 2017</p> 715875ce5e39b03d9e3949a96607f2b7 Fly Better for 06/14/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/17/fly-better Wed, 14 Jun 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Wonder why your flight is late?</p> <p>Why planes keep circling?<p>Updated: Wed Jun 14, 2017</p> ff618289130646cabae44247b65f0da9 Prosperity Cities for 06/07/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/17/prosperity-cities Wed, 07 Jun 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Lovers of socialism didn't like my column last week. I wrote that Venezuela's collapse shows the cluelessness of celebrities like Michael Moore, Oliver Stone and Noam Chomsky, who'd praised Venezuela's leader. </p> <p>Chomsky called me "an utter coward" for mocking him and said he expected "an abject apology." <p>Updated: Wed Jun 07, 2017</p> 810248a6afe7aea1367205e759edd68a Chomsky's Venezuela Lesson for 05/31/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/chomskys-venezuela-lesson Wed, 31 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Venezuela descends into chaos. Its people, once the wealthiest in Latin America, starve. Even The New York Times runs headlines like "Dying Infants and No Medicine." </p> <p>My Venezuelan-born friend Kenny says his relatives are speaking differently. Cousins who once answered "Fine" or "Good" when asked, "How are you?" now say, "We're eating." <p>Updated: Wed May 31, 2017</p> ffabe7cb461e66c8d9ddb8e6ba1106c5 Times' Green Baloney for 05/24/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/times-green-baloney Wed, 24 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The New York Times' hostility to industry gets worse every day.</p> <p>Last week, the Times ran a big picture of a bay in Alaska with the headline "In Reversal, E.P.A. Eases Path for a Mine Near Alaska's Bristol Bay."<p>Updated: Wed May 24, 2017</p> 9234003265e09cab33a6c325a0b9c282 Cruel and Stupid for 05/17/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/cruel-and-stupid Wed, 17 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p>President Trump's attorney general, Jeff Sessions, ordered federal prosecutors to seek maximum penalties for drug-related crimes. </p> <p>This is both cruel and stupid. </p> <p>It's cruel because Session's 5,000 prosecutors must now push for long jail sentences even for people who pose no violent threat and for some who are utterly innocent. <p>Updated: Wed May 17, 2017</p> 7558e43bccc6aebe10da99853750221c Improved Health Bill for 05/10/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/improved-health-bill Wed, 10 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The House repealed Obamacare! </p> <p>OK, they didn't really &#8212; but they passed a bill that repeals some bad parts of it, like the individual mandate tax, medicine cabinet tax, flexible spending account tax and health savings account withdrawal tax. Good. <p>Updated: Wed May 10, 2017</p> 50bfb218ef631d8bc66b8992dfa27dbc Break the Chains for 05/03/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/break-the-chains Wed, 03 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>My head spins.</p> <p>Before President Trump was elected, FCC Commissioner Ajit Pai came on my TV show, upset because President Obama ordered his agency to regulate the internet.<p>Updated: Wed May 03, 2017</p> 33631c61d70d7fc8ab04f1eba0b2b5be The Next President for 04/26/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/17/the-next-president-89a9a Wed, 26 Apr 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Will Donald Trump be re-elected in 2020?<p>Updated: Wed Apr 26, 2017</p> 4d7ee30820cc4315c1f70cdc10f8c681 Earth Day Dopes for 04/19/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/17/earth-day-dopes Wed, 19 Apr 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Expect more craziness this weekend. Earth Day is Saturday. This year's theme: Government must "do more" about climate change because "consequences of inaction are too high to risk."</p> <p>They make it sound so simple: <p>Updated: Wed Apr 19, 2017</p> d8c5bb17b7dbe74378d67fe7fb564917 Warrior Trump for 04/12/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/17/warrior-trump Wed, 12 Apr 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Somehow, firing Tomahawk missiles at Syria suddenly changed people's opinions of President Trump. Now they call him a "serious" leader. </p> <p>William Kristol said Trump's action "reassures you." <p>Updated: Wed Apr 12, 2017</p> 00017961865c4f766fdbb3cd8fe0bfb0 Enough Protection Already for 04/05/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/17/enough-protection-already Wed, 05 Apr 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>"Trump may have just signed a death warrant for our planet!" warns CNN host Van Jones.</p> <p>"Disaster for Clean Water, Air," says the Environmental Working Group.<p>Updated: Wed Apr 05, 2017</p> 5b96b1c7f8cd8d0666a31b54086aae43 Free Market Care for 03/29/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/17/free-market-care Wed, 29 Mar 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>President Trump and Paul Ryan tried to improve Obamacare. They failed. </p> <p>Trump then tweeted, "ObamaCare will explode and we will all get together and piece together a great healthcare plan for THE PEOPLE. Do not worry!" <p>Updated: Wed Mar 29, 2017</p> 501e8040ab1e0cb977a68c9a357f37e8 Kindest Cuts for 03/22/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/17/kindest-cuts Wed, 22 Mar 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>"Devastating!" shouts Chuck Schumer. Even Republicans are unhappy. Big spending "conservative" congressman Hal Rogers calls President Donald Trump's proposed budget cuts "draconian, careless and counterproductive." <p>Updated: Wed Mar 22, 2017</p> abf16158db2222b32b23b5f870feb569 Ignorant Media for 03/15/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/17/ignorant-media Wed, 15 Mar 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Has the media gotten worse? Or am I just grouchier? </p> <p>Every day I see things that are wrong or that so miss the point I want to scream. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 15, 2017</p> 70ebd269f48663aebe77420d70981e64 Killing Big Bird for 03/08/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/17/killing-big-bird Wed, 08 Mar 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Next week, Donald Trump releases his new budget. It's expected to cut spending on things like the National Endowment for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. </p> <p>Good! <p>Updated: Wed Mar 08, 2017</p> f22e02675e3e6b4b613bf4a534d9a0e9 The Bloated Military for 03/01/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/17/the-bloated-military Wed, 01 Mar 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Donald Trump once wanted to cut military spending. </p> <p>Before running for president, he said Congress' automatic "sequestration" cuts didn't go far enough, that they were "a very small percentage of the cuts that should be made." <p>Updated: Wed Mar 01, 2017</p> c02e58f88c8115cb09f2881801858c89 Fake News for 02/22/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/17/fake-news Wed, 22 Feb 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>"Fake News!" shouts our president, calling out CNN, The New York Times and others. </p> <p>I love it. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 22, 2017</p> c87806d7625ca9ccabd34648a11e59ed Repeal! No, Wait! for 02/15/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/17/repeal-no-wait Wed, 15 Feb 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Republicans promised to repeal the Affordable Care Act. But now they are hesitating. </p> <p>I understand why. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 15, 2017</p> e89e6e47fb4589f93d7a0b076c786de9 Smearing Team Trump for 02/08/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/17/smearing-team-trump Wed, 08 Feb 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p></p><p>Oh, no! I did it again. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 08, 2017</p>