John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Thu, 23 May 2019 21:21:34 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 3b625f18002ed06a7d2781dc424c60ce In Money We Trust? for 05/22/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/19/in-money-we-trust Wed, 22 May 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Look at the dollar bills in your wallet. They say they are "legal tender for all debts."</p> <p>But are they? What makes them valuable? What makes them worth anything?<p>Updated: Wed May 22, 2019</p> 52eb8f9a0c5e48f708b1cc42bc39b431 Sex 'Trafficking' Panic for 05/15/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/19/sex-trafficking-panic Wed, 15 May 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>When police charged New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft with soliciting prostitution, the press said the police rescued sex slaves. </p> <p>"They were women who were from China, who were forced into sex slavery," said Trevor Noah on "The Daily Show." <p>Updated: Wed May 15, 2019</p> d1038a3c5490b16cdf45ed4af94b5afd Independent Journalists for 05/08/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/19/independent-journalists Wed, 08 May 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>"I'm not going to let them bully me out of reporting," said Tim Pool after recording an Antifa protest where angry activists cursed at him. There might have been violence, but Antifa's "de-escalation team" protected him, he says. </p> <p>That surprised me. "Antifa has a de-escalation team?" I ask Pool in my latest internet video. <p>Updated: Wed May 08, 2019</p> 15b78504ad0a55bd8c87b26a4ed8b705 A Lie, a Myth and a Question for 05/01/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/19/a-lie-a-myth-and-a-question Wed, 01 May 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Socialists like Bernie Sanders tell us that "the rich get richer, and the poor get poorer." </p> <p>That's a lie. <p>Updated: Wed May 01, 2019</p> d72ec34dba853a8231e1aaa41b017265 Green Dreams for 04/24/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/19/green-dreams Wed, 24 Apr 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The Green New Deal's goal is to move America to zero carbon emissions in 10 years. </p> <p>"That's a goal you could only imagine possible if you have no idea how energy is produced," James Meigs, former editor of Popular Mechanics magazine, says in&#160;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIOiGtO2UBA&feature=youtu.be" target="_blank">my latest video.</a>&#160;<p>Updated: Wed Apr 24, 2019</p> 67dc639a0f999be987a16a0b4ea97275 Right to Print Arms for 04/17/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/19/right-to-print-arms Wed, 17 Apr 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Are you very afraid? 3D-printed guns are coming. </p> <p>"Virtually undetectable!" shrieked CNN. <p>Updated: Wed Apr 17, 2019</p> fafd0222ec961c58758bd12a04a630f6 Zuckerberg Cronyism for 04/10/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/19/zuckerberg-cronyism Wed, 10 Apr 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Please, regulate me! <p>Updated: Wed Apr 10, 2019</p> f6a38041f74e2812466c421a5f0c0d90 Breakfast Isn't Important for 04/03/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/19/breakfast-isnt-important Wed, 03 Apr 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I skipped breakfast again this morning. I won't worry about it. </p> <p>Yes, I've heard the advice. "It's the most important meal of the day." It balances blood sugar levels, kick-starts your metabolism, stimulates the brain, etc. <p>Updated: Wed Apr 03, 2019</p> a212a71f4389c6561ed7a870f8b40cb2 The Socialist Fantasy for 03/27/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/19/the-socialist-fantasy Wed, 27 Mar 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Venezuela is a disaster. </p> <p>Yet 20 years ago, it was the wealthiest country in Latin America. It still has the world's biggest oil reserves. It should be a happy and prosperous nation. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 27, 2019</p> 18e9da4bc320b3a64c717971a68bfb71 Academic Jargon for 03/20/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/19/academic-jargon Wed, 20 Mar 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Seven academic journals were recently hoaxed into publishing ridiculous studies on topics like "rape culture and queer performativity" in dog parks. </p> <p>The editor of only one of the journals, Roberto Refinetti of Sexuality and Culture, agreed to talk to me about the hoax and whether academics learned anything from being duped. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 20, 2019</p> 4fb90978bd1c19e8ab6659e9da2d7753 Your Fair Share for 03/13/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/19/your-fair-share Wed, 13 Mar 2019 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Do you pay enough taxes? What is enough? </p> <p>When asked on "60 Minutes," Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez didn't seem to have a specific tax rate in mind, but then she said, "back in the '60s ... you see tax rates as high as 60 or 70 percent." <p>Updated: Wed Mar 13, 2019</p> f88ce5bc9dfa062cd01f4718309b6ecd Hoax for 03/06/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/03/19/hoax Wed, 06 Mar 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>If you are an American college professor, the way you get a raise or tenure is by getting papers published in "academic journals." </p> <p>The stupidity of these journals says a lot about what's taught at colleges today. <p>Updated: Wed Mar 06, 2019</p> 998e0fe3759eb6742f0f90c1586cbdcd Welfare for the Rich for 02/27/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/19/welfare-for-the-rich Wed, 27 Feb 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>When I hear "welfare payments," I think "poor people."</p> <p>But America's biggest welfare recipients are often politically connected corporations &#8212; like America's sugar producers. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 27, 2019</p> 3fd17d95ef362b6a0b7f03fd52f234e3 Bogus Gun Research for 02/20/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/19/bogus-gun-research Wed, 20 Feb 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Last week Rep. Nancy Pelosi warned President Donald Trump that if he declared an "emergency" to build a wall, "think what a president with different values can present... Why don't you declare (the epidemic of gun violence in America) an emergency, Mr. President? I wish you would... A Democratic president can declare emergencies as well." </p> <p>Her fellow Democrats Sen. Kamala Harris and Sen. Elizabeth Warren quickly agreed. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 20, 2019</p> 2698aa97db05662f865878a1504c808f A Better School? for 02/13/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/19/a-better-school Wed, 13 Feb 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>There must be a better way to keep kids interested in school than drugging them. </p> <p>Today, 1 in 5 school-age boys is diagnosed with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. Many are given drugs that are supposed to help them pay attention. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 13, 2019</p> c647d6f1662e144109b789c70e0a2cc6 Slum by the Bay for 02/06/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/19/slum-by-the-bay Wed, 06 Feb 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>San Francisco is one of the richest cities it the world. It's given us music, technology and elegant architecture. </p> <p>Now it gives us filthy homeless encampments. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 06, 2019</p> f7afcb9be9414cfb0898d3239db62779 The Seen vs. the Unseen for 01/30/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/19/the-seen-vs-the-unseen Wed, 30 Jan 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Sunday is the Super Bowl. </p> <p>I look forward to playing poker and watching. It's easy to do both because in a three-hour-plus NFL game there are just 11 minutes of actual football action. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 30, 2019</p> 0e09e18a79c03750615a8e12fa667330 School Choice for 01/23/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/19/school-choice Wed, 23 Jan 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>It's School Choice Week. </p> <p>School choice is a noble cause. In much of America, parents have little or no control over where their kids attend school. Local governments assign schools by ZIP code. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 23, 2019</p> 15fe0366f522bcff978ac40aa59b92ed Shutdown 'Crisis' for 01/16/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/19/shutdown-crisis Wed, 16 Jan 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>This government shutdown is now longer than any in history. The media keep using the word "crisis." </p> <p>"Shutdown sows chaos, confusion and anxiety!" says The Washington Post. "Pain spreads widely." <p>Updated: Wed Jan 16, 2019</p> 78f4c6a4e852b73fd2d2ac30caad0da4 Legal Weed for 01/09/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/19/legal-weed Wed, 09 Jan 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p></p><p>Ten states and Washington, D.C., have now legalized adult use of marijuana. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 09, 2019</p>