creators.com opinion web
Liberal Opinion Conservative Opinion
Sileo
The Unknown Soldiers
24 Apr 2014
Mothers, Fathers and Sons

Kevin Sisson will never forget the day he challenged his son, future U.S. Army 2nd Lt. Justin Sisson, on a … Read More.

10 Apr 2014
The Front Porch

We all have a favorite place. U.S. Army Sgt. Michael Ristau's was the front porch. "When he was in Iraq and … Read More.

3 Apr 2014
Bigger Than Life

As twin brothers, Robert and John Horrigan did everything together. Whether it was hunting and fishing as … Read More.

‘He's Still Here'

Comment

Less than a month after Staff Sgt. Travis Mills lost his arms and legs in a southern Afghanistan terrorist attack, his wife, Kelsey, paused to reflect on an unimaginable ordeal.

"I can either curl up in a ball and cry or keep going," Kelsey told The Unknown Soldiers by phone from the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center in Bethesda, Md., on May 8. "I choose the latter."

Amazingly, Kelsey's husband has also kept going. From the moment he woke up without his limbs after an enemy improvised explosive device detonated on Apr. 10, Staff Sgt. Mills has been preoccupied with the well-being of his fellow 82nd Airborne Division paratroopers still fighting in Afghanistan.

"He worries about them constantly," Kelsey said. "He makes me message them daily to make sure they're safe."

While fellow soldiers were injured in the attack, Travis was relieved to learn they are healing. In this brave soldier's mind, if anyone was going to live out his life as a quadruple amputee, it was going to be him.

"He wouldn't have let this happen to any of his guys, and that's why it didn't happen to any of his guys," Kelsey explained. "He was always the first in line anywhere they went."

The 23-year-old Army wife had one source of comfort after the shocking news of her husband's severe wounds changed her life. Her brother, Staff Sgt. Joshua Buck, was also deployed to Afghanistan at the time of the attack and accompanied Travis home to the United States.

"I woke up in Germany, and I would have been alone," Kelsey quoted her husband as saying at Walter Reed. "I couldn't have faced it without Josh."

Through searing pain and the thick haze of medication, Travis' biggest fear wasn't death or adjusting to life as a wounded warrior. It was the panic his wife and their seven-month-old daughter, Chloe, would endure the first time they saw him without arms and legs.

Travis, 25, has spent his entire adult life putting others before himself.

"He'd give you the shirt off his back without hesitation," the soldier's wife said. "If you meet him, you'll never forget him."

Kelsey's quote is demonstrated by a national outpouring that started in the soldier's hometown of Vassar, Mich.

Even though he moved away eight years ago, the community made sure the wounded warrior knew he is still their hometown hero.

"Sometimes he says, 'Oh my God, why do people care so much, I was just doing my job,'" Kelsey said. "And I say, 'You did a lot and have given a lot for all of them.'"

After Fox News aired a segment about the wounded soldier and his family, hundreds of supporters became hundreds of thousands. Contributions poured in to the Travis Mills Family Fund, and stellar charities like the Fisher House Foundation, Gary Sinise Foundation, and Travis Manion Foundation stepped up to help Travis, Kelsey, Chloe, and close relatives.

"He gets letters at the hospital daily," she said. "People write such nice things."

While grateful for the media attention her husband's ordeal has garnered, Kelsey worries that the war in Afghanistan is fading from our daily national consciousness.

"I wouldn't have known any of these stories if I wasn't here walking through the hospital," she said. "I never would have met these families or known what they're going through."

Kelsey believes the overwhelming support for Travis proves that if the national media reported more frequently about the sacrifices of our troops in Afghanistan, the country would rally around the military community.

"This shows me that people will pay attention," she said.

All of Kelsey's attention is devoted to making sure her husband knows he has a wife and baby girl who will always love him unconditionally.

"I'm looking forward to living a normal life," Kelsey said. "But right now, I don't know what normal is."

The next time life gets you down, think of Staff Sgt. Travis Mills, his remarkable wife, and their courageous loved ones. Amid some of the most daunting physical and emotional challenges that human beings can experience, they are — incredibly — staying positive.

"I'm happy that my husband is still alive," Kelsey Mills said. "He's still here."

.

To find out more about Tom Sileo or to read features by other Creators Syndicate writers and cartoonists, visit the Creators Syndicate website at www.creators.com.

COPYRIGHT 2012 CREATORS.COM



Comments

0 Comments | Post Comment
Already have an account? Log in.
New Account  
Your Name:
Your E-mail:
Your Password:
Confirm Your Password:

Please allow a few minutes for your comment to be posted.

Enter the numbers to the right:  
Creators.com comments policy
More
Tom Sileo
Apr. `14
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
About the author About the author
Write the author Write the author
Printer friendly format Printer friendly format
Email to friend Email to friend
View by Month
Linda Chavez
Linda ChavezUpdated 25 Apr 2014
Patrick Buchanan
Pat BuchananUpdated 25 Apr 2014
Scott Rasmussen
Scott RasmussenUpdated 25 Apr 2014

11 Oct 2012 Women of Courage

9 May 2013 Exit 41

10 Feb 2011 Closer to You