opinion web
Liberal Opinion Conservative Opinion
Roger Simon
Roger Simon
25 Nov 2015
All Hail Der Donald!

Do not say you were not warned. Der Donald has warned you. Security is going to rule in America. And … Read More.

18 Nov 2015
Hit the Road, Toad. No Different People Wanted

Most of the refugees from Syria do not look like us. They do not look Western. They look different. And we … Read More.

11 Nov 2015
I Say Potato, and He Says Chips

I should have been listening to the answers about the Federal Reserve. Or the tax code. Or, God help us, the … Read More.

A Day Worth Celebrating


Note to Readers: This award-winning column by Roger Simon was written on July 4, 1976, and has been reprinted every year since.

I have done some pretty awful things in the name of journalism. I have rushed up to interview mothers who have lost children, husbands who have lost wives, families shattered by a variety of emotional and physical calamities.

All reporters do these things. We wear a protective cloak of professional indifference while we write the names and ages and addresses in our notebooks. The deed is done quickly and quickly forgotten.

But I am going to have a hard time forgetting a long, cinder-block corridor in a small Wisconsin town that led to a bare, large room where eight girls sat on folding chairs facing a television set.

No accident had befallen these girls. No one had died or gone to jail or been shot. What had happened to them, instead, is just about the worst thing that can happen to a person in this country.

They had failed. They had wanted to be Miss America and now they never would be.

I had spent three days in Oshkosh, Wisconsin, talking to the girls entered in the Miss Wisconsin Pageant, the final step before Atlantic City, where the winner would meet fame, fortune, and Bert Parks.

I had come to do a magazine article on the American Dream and I saw the contestants go through endless hours of walking up and down a stage wearing evening gowns and bathing suits, trying not to wobble on high heels while the same thoughts ran through their heads: "What if I trip? What if I faint? What if I throw up?''

Their workdays were 18 hours long. And wherever they went, they smiled.

But on the last night, the smiling stopped. The names of the finalists were read and the eight losers ran offstage and were lead to a room.

I walked past the door to that room three or four times before I could make myself go in. They swiveled on their chairs to look at me.

I had gotten to know them by the names of the Wisconsin towns they represented, and that is the way I think of them still.

Miss Watertown, who had the brightest smile and the cheeriest outlook during the contest, spoke one of the two thoughts that were dominating each of their minds.

"I just feel bad for my town," she said, fiddling with the hem of her gown.

"I feel I let them down. I feel I let all the people down."

Miss Sheboygan, the girl I secretly had been rooting for, spoke the second thought. "I don't know how I will face the people who came here to see me," she said.

I wish I could have told them then what I feel now. That they had branded themselves as failures in a nation whose national religion is success. They were true dreamers of the American Dream and now they were paying for it. And it is ironic, considering our nation's history, that this should be true.

America was a country founded by failures who could not get along in the Old World and who came to a wilderness because there was simply no place else to go.

America was a country settled by failures — pioneers who could not adjust to the crowded life of the Eastern Seaboard and who went West because there was no place else for them.

America was a country built by failures — men and women who never attained the dream of owning their own business and being their own boss. Men and women whose lives were ruled by the alarm clock in the morning and the factory whistle in the evening.

Years and years of history books have taught us that America was shaped by the great deeds of great men and women. It was not. America was shaped by the great deeds of ordinary men and women.

On the Fourth of July, 1969, at the height of the Vietnam War, I refused to stand up for the playing of the national anthem.

I didn't know then what I have learned since. That America always has been better than its government, that its people have always been more decent than their presidents, and that the strength and greatness of this nation lies in them, the men and women who are not great and who never will be.

So on this Fourth of July — for Miss Watertown and Miss Sheboygan and for all the other glorious failures who have made and sustained this country — on this day, I stand for them.

To find out more about Roger Simon, and read features by other Creators Syndicate writers and cartoonists, visit the Creators Syndicate webpage at



0 Comments | Post Comment
Already have an account? Log in.
New Account  
Your Name:
Your E-mail:
Your Password:
Confirm Your Password:

Please allow a few minutes for your comment to be posted.

Enter the numbers to the right: comments policy
Roger Simon
Nov. `15
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
About the author About the author
Write the author Write the author
Printer friendly format Printer friendly format
Email to friend Email to friend
View by Month
R. Emmett Tyrrell
R. Emmett Tyrrell Jr.Updated 26 Nov 2015
Lenore Skenazy
Lenore SkenazyUpdated 26 Nov 2015
Larry Elder
Larry ElderUpdated 26 Nov 2015

19 Sep 2007 Hillary the Unstoppable?

3 Dec 2008 Drama and Hillary Go Hand in Hand

20 Jun 2012 Obama's Immigration Trap