opinion web
Liberal Opinion Conservative Opinion
Lawrence Kudlow
Lawrence Kudlow
14 Nov 2015
GOP Not yet There on Growth

The singular economic issue of our time is the quest for more rapid economic growth. In the past century the … Read More.

24 Oct 2015
Biden Decision Leaves Both Parties in Disarray

Lawrence Kudlow is off this week. The following column is by Michael Barone. Joe Biden has made it official: … Read More.

17 Oct 2015
Pro-Growth Economist Angus Deaton Echoes JFK

The Democratic presidential debate ironically took place the same week that a Princeton University professor … Read More.

If We Want to Destroy ISIS, We Can Destroy ISIS


Let's say it loud and often. If we want to destroy ISIS, we can destroy ISIS. Perhaps I am stating the obvious, but I want to state it anyway. Why? Because I am not hearing it enough.

I'm certainly not hearing it from the White House, where the original goal of destruction is barely mentioned now. President Obama is listless. He's also petulant, pointing political fingers at Republicans. But he doesn't have a trace of a coherent policy to destroy ISIS. Not a trace.

This is from Gen. Jack Keane, in his recent congressional testimony: "Having the best security defensive system in America is not sufficient; we must have as good an offense to stop and defeat ISIS. We do not. We are not even close."

But very few people are talking about destroying ISIS.

Some in the Republican Party and on the campaign trail are saying it, but they're not saying it enough. Not repeatedly. Not so as to boost the morale of the country.

We need determination. We need to be unflinching. We need to be focused on the goal of destroying ISIS.

We are at war. Our homeland is in danger. Yes, the moratorium on Syrian refugees must be in place. That's easy. But what's not easy is coming up with a coherent plan for destroying ISIS and telling America, "We can do this." That is leadership.

It may not be exactly comparable to President Ronald Reagan's often-repeated goal of defeating Soviet communism and his message that yes, "We can do it." But now is the time for our leaders to say we can destroy ISIS.

I am not a military strategist. What I am trying to propose here is a message, with urgency, that is vital to the leadership equation. If the White House won't do it, then other leaders must.

It's a week after the horrific Paris terror attacks, but basically the U.S. has changed nothing. How can this be?

Why hasn't the president called for an emergency meeting of NATO where we would join brave French President Francois Hollande on declaring war with ISIS? Why haven't we done this? If the president won't, then Congress should.

And why have we not called for an emergency meeting of the U.N. Security Council to get a war resolution through immediately?

And why hasn't Congress already passed a new authorization for the use of military force?

And why have we not called an emergency conference of our Arab allies in the Middle East, to declare war and organize a campaign to destroy ISIS?

As National Review writer David French has noted, while we wait, ISIS is expanding its franchises in Egypt, North Africa and Nigeria.

And ISIS has certainly shown increased striking ability after taking down a Russian plane, bombing Lebanon and unleashing the bloody Paris attacks.

I would venture that as long as ISIS has the real estate and territory and relative safety to operate in, it will organize, plan, and execute much more of this mayhem.

Take it away from them. Destroy ISIS.

We need to bring in Europe. Bring in our Arab allies. As Fred and Kimberly Kagan (military strategist and military historian, respectively) note, we should give Baghdad the resources to retake Iraqi territory. And as tough as it may be, America must lead. Only America can create a grand coalition to win this war.

Of course, the air bombing has to be expanded substantially. As the Kagans and Gen. Keane have argued, we need to expand the rules of engagement, lift all restrictions and accept the fact that in this war there will be collateral damage.

Adding troops on the ground is also a necessity. Gen. Keane suggests a tripling, which would bring U.S. forces to about 10,000.

ISIS can only be destroyed by air and ground attacks. And a recent Washington Post/ABC poll shows that a full 60 percent of Americans favor additional ground forces.

So, I say to the GOP candidates, go ahead and say it. Call for air and ground attacks, along with other collation forces. Congressional leadership should join in making these demands. Outflank the White House. The public is behind this because the public wants to destroy ISIS.

There are a million difficult issues, both tactical and strategic, in this military campaign. But the American military is the best in the world. Unleash them. Destroy ISIS. Working with our allies, we will save the American homeland, Europe, the Middle East, and Asia from this evil.

This is war. Let's rally the country and our friends overseas. Our friends, once again, will respect us. And finally, ISIS will fear us.

Most of all, the message must be clear: We are not a helpless giant. We can do this. We've done it before. We can do it again.

If we want to destroy ISIS, then we can destroy ISIS.

To find out more about Lawrence Kudlow and read features by other Creators Syndicate writers and cartoonists, visit the Creators Syndicate Web page at



0 Comments | Post Comment
Already have an account? Log in.
New Account  
Your Name:
Your E-mail:
Your Password:
Confirm Your Password:

Please allow a few minutes for your comment to be posted.

Enter the numbers to the right: comments policy
Lawrence Kudlow
Nov. `15
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
About the author About the author
Write the author Write the author
Printer friendly format Printer friendly format
Email to friend Email to friend
View by Month
Authorís Podcast
Marc Dion
Marc DionUpdated 30 Nov 2015
Mark Shields
Mark ShieldsUpdated 28 Nov 2015
diane dimond
Diane DimondUpdated 28 Nov 2015

5 May 2010 A Spend-and-Borrow Debt Mess

20 Sep 2014 The Return of King Dollar

16 Feb 2007 Bernanke's Goldilocks