creators.com opinion web
Liberal Opinion Conservative Opinion
Joseph Farah
Joseph Farah
27 Aug 2014
What's America's No. 1 National Security Threat?

What does a nation do when its highest official represents the biggest security threat it faces? That's what … Read More.

20 Aug 2014
Something for Rand Paul to Think About

I think Sen. Rand Paul has some great ideas. I think it's even possible God has placed him in a unique … Read More.

13 Aug 2014
When Obama Orders Amnesty

Now that House Speaker John Boehner has ruled out impeaching President Barack Obama, what will Republicans do … Read More.

Obama's Born-in-USA Mandate

Comment

Last week's CBS/New York Times poll had some good news in it for Barack Obama. You had to search deep down in the 40-some pages of responses to find it. It was nowhere to be found in the reporting on the poll. This was a non-story for The New York Times and CBS and every other news organization that looked at the results.

After more than two years of virtual media blackout on any of the serious unanswered questions about Obama's inability or unwillingness to prove his constitutional eligibility for office, a resounding 58 percent of Americans think he was born in the USA.

I repeat: They think he was born in the USA.

Of course, that 58 percent includes the combined staffs of The New York Times, CBS News, Fox News, CNN (since the departure of Lou Dobbs), MSNBC, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Associated Press and all those permitted to attend the White House Correspondents' Association dinner this year. Given the number of times Bill O'Reilly has refuted the possibility that anyone could have any legitimate concern about Obama's eligibility, I'm guessing he voted five or six times in this poll.

After all of the unequivocal denouncements and ridicule of "birthers" and the absolute refusal even to entertain a serious discussion of this issue, only 58 percent of Americans polled by CBS and The New York Times think he was born in America. I wonder how many would have replied they are certain. I'm pretty sure O'Reilly and Glenn Beck would still be out on that limb along with Chris Matthews, Rachel Maddow and Keith Olbermann. But the air of certainty is a lot thinner than thinking he was born in the United States.

And certainty, of course, is what all Americans should have at this late date when it comes to the constitutional eligibility of their president. It shouldn't be a matter of guessing. It shouldn't be a matter of opinion. It should be a matter determined by absolute proof.

By the way, fully 20 percent of Americans polled said they believe Obama was born in another country. Now, I have to tell you, as one of those characterized as a leader of the "birther" movement, I would not have answered that way.

I would have answered the way another 23 percent of Americans did — I don't know.

This is the first time a major U.S. media poll has asked about the eligibility question. But look at the way it was done! It's a shockingly biased question. Can you believe that shoddy question from the so-called "newspaper of record" and the network of Edward R. Murrow? Who cares what people think about where the president was born. The question is whether they are satisfied the president has proven he is constitutionally eligible. Ask the question that way and you will get a much closer poll — as World Net Daily learned when first asking this question in a scientific poll last June.

But I would suggest to you that the goal of the CBS/New York Times poll was not to get disagreement on this issue. The goal was to get unanimity — to prove that only a few fringe, wacko characters like me believed there were still unanswered questions.

There's one other thing you should notice about this poll. There's an obvious arithmetic problem when you add the totals up and get 101 percent, which leaves the distinct possibility only 57 percent of Americans polled actually think he's born in America.

But there's more to this poll than meets the eye.

When you read the responses to the rest of the questions, it turns out this is a remarkably Obama-friendly sampling. Obama's positives are much higher than other recent comparable polls. His negatives are much lower. This is a group that gives Obama a 50 percent approval rating. That's not an approval rating he has seen in other polls in recent months.

I've been saying since last summer that half the country has grave doubts about Obama — not just about the birth certificate, but also about who he truly is. They are wondering why he is hiding his birth certificate, why he is hiding his school records, why he is hiding his college records, why he is hiding his travel records, why he is hiding his medical records.

And most of all, I suspect, they are getting very suspicious about why the so-called "watchdogs" in the press show curiosity and concern only about those who ask the president to stop stonewalling and start living up to his pledge to run the most open and transparent administration in history.

To find out more about Joseph Farah and read features by other Creators Syndicate writers and cartoonists, visit the Creators Syndicate Web page at www.creators.com.

COPYRIGHT 2010 CREATORS.COM



Comments

0 Comments | Post Comment
Already have an account? Log in.
New Account  
Your Name:
Your E-mail:
Your Password:
Confirm Your Password:

Please allow a few minutes for your comment to be posted.

Enter the numbers to the right:  
Creators.com comments policy
More
Joseph Farah
Aug. `14
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2 3 4 5 6
About the author About the author
Write the author Write the author
Printer friendly format Printer friendly format
Email to friend Email to friend
View by Month
Authorís Podcast
Walter Williams
Walter E. WilliamsUpdated 3 Sep 2014
Thomas Sowell
Thomas SowellUpdated 2 Sep 2014
Froma Harrop
Froma HarropUpdated 2 Sep 2014

7 Nov 2007 Democrats, Kids and Old Folks

24 Jul 2013 Holder Reveals His Plan for Your Gun

2 Feb 2011 The Global Islamist Revolt is Here