opinion web
Liberal Opinion Conservative Opinion
Froma Harrop
Froma Harrop
8 Oct 2015
Political War All the Time

There is a time for war and a time for peace, according to the book of Ecclesiastes and The Byrds. In the … Read More.

6 Oct 2015
Twisted Social Media and Mass Murder

The first details about the mass killer at the community college in Roseburg, Oregon, were that he was a … Read More.

1 Oct 2015
Drug Price Gouging a Product of Our Political System

If Hollywood had created Martin Shkreli as the monster from Wall Street, we would have accused it of unfair characterization.… Read More.

The Blubber Hits the Road Projects


The blubbering has hit the road projects, as the congressional ban on earmarks becomes reality. Tea partiers and other foes of "Big Government" demanded the end to earmarks, also known as pork. Earmarks are but a drop in the federal spending pool, so you can imagine the howls that will emerge from the major budgetary surgery to come.

We read that folks in Wisconsin's rural Burnett County now fear a possible property tax increase because they can't get a $1 million earmark for improving their communications system. Some use such worthy examples to argue that earmarks aren't all that bad. Not me.

If Burnett County residents want to modernize their communications system, why shouldn't they pay for it? I can assure them, my property taxes are a lot higher than theirs. Earmark funding sends the bills for such projects to me and other federal taxpayers.

I don't object to federal spending on needs that individuals or local governments can't efficiently meet. But I don't see why I should pay for others' infrastructure because some congressman was able to skirt the normal budgeting channels, which is what earmarking is all about. Pork breeds corruption, and that makes it objectionable, no matter where the money goes.

Some lawmakers, such as Sen. Daniel Inouye, Democrat of Hawaii, don't see the earmark ban that way. "The reality is that critical needs in communities throughout the country will be neglected," he said. The truth is that these needs will be neglected only if the communities neglect them.

At least Inouye is honest in his support of earmarks. He doesn't engage in the two-faced maneuvering more prevalent among some of his Republican colleagues — denouncing government spending while churning out press releases about the pork they're bringing home. How interesting that Tea Party Caucus members asked for more than $1 billion in pork last year, according to Citizens Against Government Waste.

How predictable.

Some clever fellows go around the pork embargo by not calling earmarks "earmarks." How about "lettermarking"?

When Republican Rep. Mark Kirk ran for President Obama's old Senate seat, the Illinois Republican condemned earmarks, natch. Turns out that Kirk had previously written a letter to the Department of Education seeking money for a local school district. This is an example of lettermarking. "Phonemarking" involves making similar requests by telephone.

What's wrong with just asking for money? A lot when the request is really a threat against the department or agency being approached. As a member of the House Appropriations Committee, Kirk held power over their budgets.

Sen. Kirk has just issued a press release announcing his new assignment on the Senate Appropriations Committee, which, he notes, "has authority over all discretionary expenditures made by the federal government."

Without earmarks, politicians will have to navigate the proper avenues for federal funding, but they won't be on Easy Street under Obama's five-year plan to freeze discretionary domestic spending. Valuable or not, favorably reviewed or not, many projects will not get federal dollars from the increasingly dry well. And we're talking about a lot more money than the $16 billion spent on earmarks last year.

But the earmarks ban has been more personally felt up to now. Here's what Steve Tribble, an official in Kentucky's Christian County, had to say about the loss of earmark funding for a road plan: "I am against some earmarks,' he told The New York Times. "Not the good ones. I can promise you, this is not a road to nowhere."

And I believe him. But if this road goes somewhere important, the locals should be more than happy to pay for it.

There is no such thing as a good earmark.

To find out more about Froma Harrop, and read features by other Creators Syndicate writers and cartoonists, visit the Creators Syndicate web page at




0 Comments | Post Comment
Already have an account? Log in.
New Account  
Your Name:
Your E-mail:
Your Password:
Confirm Your Password:

Please allow a few minutes for your comment to be posted.

Enter the numbers to the right: comments policy
Froma Harrop
Oct. `15
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
About the author About the author
Write the author Write the author
Printer friendly format Printer friendly format
Email to friend Email to friend
View by Month
Marc Dion
Marc DionUpdated 12 Oct 2015
Mark Shields
Mark ShieldsUpdated 10 Oct 2015
Brent Bozell

1 May 2012 Wishing the Worst for John Edwards

20 Apr 2010 Too Much Medicine Isn't Good Medicine

13 Jan 2015 License Plates Are Not Bumper Stickers