opinion web
Liberal Opinion Conservative Opinion
David Harsanyi
David Harsanyi
9 Oct 2015
The More You Politicize Guns the Weaker Your Case Becomes

After the horrific mass shooting at a community college in Oregon, President Barack Obama made an impassioned … Read More.

2 Oct 2015
The GOP Is Overmatched

If for some reason you needed additional evidence that the Republican Party is deeply incompetent, unprepared,… Read More.

25 Sep 2015
Liberals Are Done Debating

Not always. Not everyone. But enough. This week, for example, while thinking about the pope's take on global warming,… Read More.

Why the Helen Thomas Case Makes Me Nervous


A few months ago, a picture appeared in The Denver Post. On a local college campus — an alleged stronghold of free inquiry and debate — a leftist student, protesting some perceived injustice, was holding a sign that argued:

"Hate speech is not free speech!"

Perhaps this earnest 20-something had not fully thought through her illiberal position on "tolerable" political speech. Perhaps she was part of that broader movement that sees "hate" everywhere among its ideological opponents. Either way, it's tragic that so many young people misunderstand the idea of open debate — or simply devalue liberty.

Some people accept that certain things cannot — rather than should not — be said. Beyond the worrisome assaults on free speech (fairness doctrines, higher education, etc.) there is a slipperier concern. Which brings me to Helen Thomas' now infamous and career-ending comment, in which she helpfully suggested that the Jews get "the hell out of Palestine."

True, I find some comfort in knowing that this unprofessional crackpot never will haunt a president, common sense or the public again. But I wince at the rapidity of her demise. And I feel a nagging anxiety about a journalist's losing her job over nothing more than a controversial statement.

"She should lose her job over this," former White House press secretary Ari Fleischer said before Thomas gave in to a forced retirement. "As someone who is Jewish and as someone who worked with her and used to like her, I find this appalling."

Cliff May, president of the Foundation for Defense of Democracies and former roving reporter for Hearst (which syndicated Thomas' column), in a letter urged the company "strenuously" to "cut all ties" with Thomas "as quickly as possible."

It seems an odd reaction, especially for conservatives, who are accused regularly of thought crimes and hate speech by outfits like Media Matters, which are in the business of smearing and discrediting those who disagree with them.

But an opinion — in Thomas' case, an ugly opinion that in all probability is more common than some people might believe — is no more than the strength of the logic behind it.

As a regular defender of the moral right of Israel to fight the theocrats and fascists whom Thomas embraces, I never thought she was very credible or articulate on the topic, and she is unworthy of the over-the-top reactions of critics.

Nevertheless, at this point in her career, the 89-year-old was still a columnist for Hearst newspapers. A columnist offers provocative views. You don't have to like Thomas, and you don't have to read her columns, but having a disdain for Jews in general or Israel in particular is hardly the most offensive thought that's kicking around.

Though I don't hold an earthly stake in debates over God, Bill Maher's ludicrous anti-Catholic rants or a tome from a polemist like Christopher Hitchens (who condemns all religion as a dangerous farce) might be "appalling" to rather large swaths of the public. Are certain topics off the table?

Of course, I am not suggesting that Thomas has a birthright to sit in the front row at a White House news conference (a situation that hasn't made sense for at least three decades) or that anyone has an inalienable right to pontificate about the world for a newspaper chain or anyone else.

And no, I can't mourn the loss of Helen Thomas' detestable opinions. But at the same time, I can't help but feel some trepidation about the ease in which some voices — in this case, one voice that is probably more honest than others of similar ideological disposition — can be expelled from the conversation simply for offending.

David Harsanyi is a columnist at The Denver Post and the author of "Nanny State." Visit his website at To find out more about David Harsanyi and read features by other Creators Syndicate writers and cartoonists, visit the Creators Syndicate Web page at




1 Comments | Post Comment
Excellent points! But when will the constitutionality of "hate" speech be tested - as it should have been a long time ago before every PC politician rushed to embrace it? Anyone who finds this alarming might be interested in the work of FIRE (Foundation for Individual Rights in Education) - a non-profit group begun by lawyers in Philadelphia who regularly challenge the speech codes of public colleges. It's an eye-opener.
Comment: #1
Posted by: Maggie Lawrence
Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:01 AM
Already have an account? Log in.
New Account  
Your Name:
Your E-mail:
Your Password:
Confirm Your Password:

Please allow a few minutes for your comment to be posted.

Enter the numbers to the right: comments policy
David Harsanyi
Oct. `15
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
About the author About the author
Write the author Write the author
Printer friendly format Printer friendly format
Email to friend Email to friend
View by Month
Marc Dion
Marc DionUpdated 12 Oct 2015
Mark Shields
Mark ShieldsUpdated 10 Oct 2015
Brent Bozell

18 Mar 2010 Actually, Process Does Matter

9 Sep 2008 Risk for Thee but Not for Me

21 May 2009 Fear: Our National Pastime