John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Wed, 23 Jan 2019 16:02:18 -0800 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 0e09e18a79c03750615a8e12fa667330 School Choice for 01/23/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/19/school-choice Wed, 23 Jan 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>It's School Choice Week. </p> <p>School choice is a noble cause. In much of America, parents have little or no control over where their kids attend school. Local governments assign schools by ZIP code. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 23, 2019</p> 15fe0366f522bcff978ac40aa59b92ed Shutdown 'Crisis' for 01/16/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/19/shutdown-crisis Wed, 16 Jan 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>This government shutdown is now longer than any in history. The media keep using the word "crisis." </p> <p>"Shutdown sows chaos, confusion and anxiety!" says The Washington Post. "Pain spreads widely." <p>Updated: Wed Jan 16, 2019</p> 78f4c6a4e852b73fd2d2ac30caad0da4 Legal Weed for 01/09/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/19/legal-weed Wed, 09 Jan 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p></p><p>Ten states and Washington, D.C., have now legalized adult use of marijuana. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 09, 2019</p> 867da1e3407fc958ab1cc8d716d6d9e0 Sweden Isn't Socialist for 01/02/2019 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/18/sweden-isnt-socialist Wed, 02 Jan 2019 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>For years, I've heard American leftists say Sweden is proof that socialism works, that it doesn't have to turn out as badly as the Soviet Union or Cuba or Venezuela did. </p> <p>But that's not what Swedish historian Johan Norberg says in a new documentary and Stossel TV video. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 02, 2019</p> 8e33da2e41586306f342c2e8390c30fd And Peace Online for 12/26/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/18/and-peace-online Wed, 26 Dec 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>My New Year's resolution: Make a careful distinction between speech and violence. </p> <p>America's First Amendment says "yes" to most speech, including speech that criticizes, insults &#8212; even speech that promotes hate. But the law applies only to government. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 26, 2018</p> 060c2d3fc550d6dc6fe4fa3a06f1abfb Capitalists vs. Capitalism for 12/19/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/18/capitalists-vs-capitalism Wed, 19 Dec 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>It's bad enough when leftists smear capitalism. I hate it more when capitalists do it, too. </p> <p>I'd hoped for more from the world's current richest man, Jeff Bezos. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 19, 2018</p> ea41d7cb3aabe9dbdef6518d150219b2 Liberty Gifts for 12/12/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/18/liberty-gifts Wed, 12 Dec 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Struggling to find gifts to get for loved ones? How about a book? </p> <p>I just made a&#160;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P29BKebCxjY" target="_blank">video</a>&#160;about some books that shaped my thinking. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 12, 2018</p> 351f6dc6f170c613d799eedb1cd11746 The Creepy Line for 12/05/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/18/the-creepy-line Wed, 05 Dec 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>This morning Google told me that it would not allow my&#160;<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRFI3SyLR78&feature=youtu.be" target="_blank">YouTube video</a>&#160;"Socialism Leads to Violence" to be viewed by young people. It violates "community guidelines," said the company in a computer-generated email. </p> <p>Anti-capitalist bias? Or just an algorithm shielding children from disturbing violence in Venezuela? I don't know. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 05, 2018</p> 6d6b7805b09a2a7112a18928bf0b4d6f Pro-Smoking Government for 11/28/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/18/pro-smoking-government Wed, 28 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>E-cigarettes let people get a hit of nicotine without burning tobacco. </p> <p>Avoiding burning tobacco is the single greatest preventative health measure human beings can take, given the diseases conventional cigarettes cause. <p>Updated: Wed Nov 28, 2018</p> 3725a68f0a54b0b73b0e0b29d60045f9 Grateful for Not Starving for 11/21/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/18/grateful-for-not-starving Wed, 21 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>When we celebrate Thanksgiving this week, I will give thanks for property rights.</p> <p>Property rights allow each individual or family to do what we want with our small piece of the world without having to answer to the whole community. <p>Updated: Wed Nov 21, 2018</p> 08ac1b1cc2db310ad60314a9e6d68b07 Single-Payer Health Care for 11/14/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/18/single-payer-health-care Wed, 14 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>America needs single-payer health care, say progressives. That's a system where government pays doctors and hospitals, and no sick person has to worry about having enough money to pay for care. After all, they say, "Health care is a "right!" </p> <p><span class="column--highlighted-text">"Who pays for it?" asks Chris Pope, "And that's really not a rights question."</span> <p>Updated: Wed Nov 14, 2018</p> c40e95b3bd1525896dc7877632767a4c Told You So! for 11/07/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/18/told-you-so Wed, 07 Nov 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Republicans held the Senate! Democrats took the House but by a narrower margin! </p> <p>Did I just embarrass myself? <p>Updated: Wed Nov 07, 2018</p> a281be96c665f10849a1db768c8b8a00 A Bridge to Sell You for 10/31/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/18/a-bridge-to-sell-you Wed, 31 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>"Libertarians believe that you should be as conservative or as liberal as you want to be as long as you don't want to force yourself on others," says Larry Sharpe, Libertarian candidate for governor of New York. </p> <p>Sharpe is an unusual Libertarian candidate because he's doing well in some polls. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 31, 2018</p> 34620558174f6d080ba9ba1c7320e80b Politicians' Deceitful Promise for 10/24/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/18/politicians-deceitful-promise Wed, 24 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Will you be able to retire? Maybe not. </p> <p>Will your state pay what its politicians promised? Almost certainly not. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 24, 2018</p> 1c63317e21dfb51813ac0c91f0d23b68 Shut Up, They Explain for 10/17/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/18/shut-up-they-explain-34feb Wed, 17 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Gloria Alvarez, the young woman from Guatemala I wrote about last week, just got blocked by Facebook. Why? Because she criticizes socialism. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 17, 2018</p> 751de59ae70079e36f7fb6a6f447ca29 Socialism Destroys for 10/10/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/18/socialism-destroys Wed, 10 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Socialism is hot. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 10, 2018</p> 248f5a42267d5d360d52e3cb3eaed83f Seriously Mentally Ill for 10/03/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/18/seriously-mentally-ill Wed, 03 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>They live on the street, often foraging through dumpsters. Some threaten us. Occasionally, they assault people. </p> <p>Thousands of mentally ill people cycle in and out of hospital emergency rooms. They strain our medical system, scare the public and sometimes harm themselves. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 03, 2018</p> 48d273ae4858bbc3223560588306b0ba Leaving the Left for 09/26/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/18/leaving-the-left Wed, 26 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Watching<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kl0-n0zWVJk" target="_blank">&#160;this video&#160;</a>upset me. Students and even faculty members won't let Dave Rubin speak. They constantly interrupt, shouting "hate speech!" and "black lives matter!" <p>Updated: Wed Sep 26, 2018</p> 59ec4a5bf951244bb21201c05fa40106 Prices Should Rise for 09/19/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/18/prices-should-rise Wed, 19 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Officials in states hit by Hurricane Florence are on the lookout for "price gouging." </p> <p>People who engage in "excessive pricing" face up to 30 days jail time, said North Carolina's attorney general. South Carolina passed a "Price Gouging During Emergency" law that imposes a $1,000 fine per violation. <p>Updated: Wed Sep 19, 2018</p> a2759261737ae4d7ac0ec6ca5367617b Scooters Outrun Law for 09/12/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/18/scooters-outrun-law Wed, 12 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I just zipped down a city street on an electric scooter. It cost me 15 cents a minute. Fast and fun!</p> <p>My scooter was just lying on the ground. I picked it up, activated it with my phone and rode away. When I was done, I simply abandoned it.<p>Updated: Wed Sep 12, 2018</p>