John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Mon, 20 Aug 2018 01:09:25 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 601e95bb31ab108138662085ea78f788 Social Security Fails for 08/15/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/18/social-security-fails Wed, 15 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Social Security is running out of money. </p> <p>You may not believe that, but it's a fact. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 15, 2018</p> 445fc21ea7ad0ad86c25a7de40454458 Ignorant Sanders for 08/08/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/18/ignorant-sanders Wed, 08 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Sen. Bernie Sanders is all over the internet! </p> <p>New York Magazine says he is "quietly building a digital media empire." <p>Updated: Wed Aug 08, 2018</p> d41d8b6308019040ca7c1212935354e3 Working for Tips for 08/01/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/working-for-tips Wed, 01 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Union protestors and celebrity advocates have decided that waiters' tips aren't big enough. </p> <p>They are upset that in&#160;<a href="https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm" target="_blank">43 states,</a>&#160;tipped workers can be paid a lower minimum wage, as low as $2.13 an hour. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 01, 2018</p> 78f58169235d72db7dbb59263bd31fab Less-Communist Cuba for 07/25/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/less-communist-cuba Wed, 25 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>While self-proclaimed "democratic socialists" win Democratic primaries in America, actual socialists in Cuba are finally backing away from some of the ideas that kept Cubans poor.</p> <p>Sunday, Cuba's National Assembly approved a draft of a new constitution that recognizes a right to own private property. That's progress. Would Senator Bernie Sanders and celebrity-of-the-moment Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez approve? I'm not sure.<p>Updated: Wed Jul 25, 2018</p> 611cde46b84d34080e7fe2fb77a43b95 Banning Straws for 07/18/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/banning-straws Wed, 18 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Want to sip a refreshing beverage this summer? </p> <p>If environmental zealots and sycophants get their way, you won't be allowed to sip it through a plastic straw. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 18, 2018</p> 2427ca4c2890ce02d8699980f28488c8 Dads Needed for 07/11/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/dads-needed Wed, 11 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Warren Farrell was once considered a feminist leader. He hung around with Gloria Steinem and wrote about why men and women should break out of rigid old gender roles. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 11, 2018</p> bc4c8c54b96c6afd5823034cef265875 One Nation, Many Individuals for 07/04/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/one-nation-many-individuals Wed, 04 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>We celebrate the Fourth of July because that's the day the Declaration of Independence was signed, 242 years ago. You might call July 4 America's birthday. </p> <p>The Declaration didn't just declare our independence from Britain; it vowed to create a government that respected all people's rights to "life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness." <p>Updated: Wed Jul 04, 2018</p> f527f6780152133b6e4aa34fe8657d52 Shut Up, They Explain for 06/27/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/18/shut-up-they-explain Wed, 27 Jun 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I'm not surprised that mobs shriek at Trump administration officials in restaurants and that Maxine Waters wants more of that. I've watched this happen at American colleges. </p> <p>One example: <p>Updated: Wed Jun 27, 2018</p> bf3301764ad77f4ba1e96f35eee7ca9a Chinese Big Brother for 06/20/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/18/chinese-big-brother Wed, 20 Jun 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Upset because Facebook and Google invade your privacy? Be glad you don't live in China. </p> <p>Facebook and other Western apps are banned there. The government views their openness as a threat. So the Chinese use platforms like WeChat and Alibaba. <p>Updated: Wed Jun 20, 2018</p> 40ad33e7de991970b24e54eec7658493 Patriarchy Defender for 06/13/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/18/patriarchy-defender Wed, 13 Jun 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>"Shame on you! Shame on you!" chanted protestors after psychology professor Jordan Peterson said he'd refuse to obey a law that would require everyone to call people by the pronoun they prefer &#8212; pronouns like "ze" instead of "he" or "she." <p>Updated: Wed Jun 13, 2018</p> be469d4f658f0c67753ef65086494e95 Crony Developments for 06/06/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/18/crony-developments Wed, 06 Jun 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>"Are you on the take?" <p>Updated: Wed Jun 06, 2018</p> 2a4ec96473bd2b6cd6773401659d4ce6 Against Higher Education for 05/30/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/against-higher-education Wed, 30 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Today, all Americans are told, "Go to college!"</p> <p>President Obama said, "College graduation has never been more valuable."<p>Updated: Wed May 30, 2018</p> 20cc9f4483f1d2701f946f87940f2519 The Innocence Project for 05/23/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/the-innocence-project Wed, 23 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>On TV crime shows like "CSI," "NCIS" and "Law & Order," science gets the bad guys. </p> <p>In real life, "science" often ensnares the innocent. <p>Updated: Wed May 23, 2018</p> 7e18508f151ed6b760eb51b4114c16ef Amazon Fights Back for 05/16/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/amazon-fights-back Wed, 16 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Seattle is worried about the well-being of the poor and mentally ill people living there, so it's going to drive businesses out of town. </p> <p>OK, that's not how the politicians describe their plan, but that's probably how it will work out. <p>Updated: Wed May 16, 2018</p> 2099ce8223053d18c4de95dd58b0078c Hating DeVos for 05/09/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/hating-devos Wed, 09 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>People hate Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos. </p> <p>When she spoke at the Kennedy School of Government, students held up signs calling her a "white supremacist." <p>Updated: Wed May 09, 2018</p> 3b6cb55027656c5e4fb70d29614ab12b Propaganda Networks for 05/02/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/18/propaganda-networks Wed, 02 May 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Why does American journalist Abby Martin report for media run by socialist murderers? </p> <p>Martin once worked for RT, Russia's state-run news network. <p>Updated: Fri May 11, 2018</p> 8876d562d401504e83e32b4921323385 Teachers With Guns for 04/25/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/18/teachers-with-guns Wed, 25 Apr 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>What should be done about school shootings? </p> <p>After the horrible shooting in Parkland, Florida, President Trump suggested that some teachers carry guns. "We need to let people know, you come in to our schools &#8212; you're gonna be dead." <p>Updated: Wed Apr 25, 2018</p> 807baa415c5a6bc5d3968b2723033534 Hidden Taxes for 04/18/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/18/hidden-taxes Wed, 18 Apr 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The cable bill was the last straw, says Kristin Tate. "That's the one that really made me mad." </p> <p>Comcast included $36 in charges for mysterious things like "utility tax" and "government access fee." <p>Updated: Wed Apr 18, 2018</p> 80782d1b24ccd7c6f2733565f6cf58b3 War on Science for 04/11/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/18/war-on-science Wed, 11 Apr 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>We've been told conservatives don't believe in science and that there's a "Republican war on science." </p> <p>But John Tierney, who's written about science for The New York Times for 25 years and now writes for the Manhattan Institute's City Journal, told me in my latest online video, "The real war on science is the one from the left." <p>Updated: Wed Apr 11, 2018</p> 3eaa1efccd00f272182b21207494fbe9 Poisonous Taxes for 04/04/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/18/poisonous-taxes Wed, 04 Apr 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Soda will cost you more in Philadelphia, Seattle, Boulder, Colorado, and a bunch of California cities because politicians in those places voted to tax it. </p> <p>The social engineers claim soda taxes will "reduce obesity," "lower diabetes rates," "reduce medical costs," etc. But the politicians' main goal is to bring in money. <p>Updated: Wed Apr 04, 2018</p>