John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Mon, 22 Oct 2018 09:57:05 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 1c63317e21dfb51813ac0c91f0d23b68 Shut Up, They Explain for 10/17/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/18/shut-up-they-explain-34feb Wed, 17 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Gloria Alvarez, the young woman from Guatemala I wrote about last week, just got blocked by Facebook. Why? Because she criticizes socialism. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 17, 2018</p> 751de59ae70079e36f7fb6a6f447ca29 Socialism Destroys for 10/10/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/18/socialism-destroys Wed, 10 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Socialism is hot. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 10, 2018</p> 248f5a42267d5d360d52e3cb3eaed83f Seriously Mentally Ill for 10/03/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/18/seriously-mentally-ill Wed, 03 Oct 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>They live on the street, often foraging through dumpsters. Some threaten us. Occasionally, they assault people. </p> <p>Thousands of mentally ill people cycle in and out of hospital emergency rooms. They strain our medical system, scare the public and sometimes harm themselves. <p>Updated: Wed Oct 03, 2018</p> 48d273ae4858bbc3223560588306b0ba Leaving the Left for 09/26/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/18/leaving-the-left Wed, 26 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Watching<a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kl0-n0zWVJk" target="_blank">&#160;this video&#160;</a>upset me. Students and even faculty members won't let Dave Rubin speak. They constantly interrupt, shouting "hate speech!" and "black lives matter!" <p>Updated: Wed Sep 26, 2018</p> 59ec4a5bf951244bb21201c05fa40106 Prices Should Rise for 09/19/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/18/prices-should-rise Wed, 19 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Officials in states hit by Hurricane Florence are on the lookout for "price gouging." </p> <p>People who engage in "excessive pricing" face up to 30 days jail time, said North Carolina's attorney general. South Carolina passed a "Price Gouging During Emergency" law that imposes a $1,000 fine per violation. <p>Updated: Wed Sep 19, 2018</p> a2759261737ae4d7ac0ec6ca5367617b Scooters Outrun Law for 09/12/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/18/scooters-outrun-law Wed, 12 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I just zipped down a city street on an electric scooter. It cost me 15 cents a minute. Fast and fun!</p> <p>My scooter was just lying on the ground. I picked it up, activated it with my phone and rode away. When I was done, I simply abandoned it.<p>Updated: Wed Sep 12, 2018</p> 8b595f18e622a12adb4c90ead5308b52 Judging Kavanaugh for 09/05/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/09/18/judging-kavanaugh Wed, 05 Sep 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Some people are very angry about President Trump's new Supreme Court pick. </p> <p>"Hell no, Kavanaugh! He is a dangerous man!" protesters shouted on the steps of the Supreme Court. Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand yelled, "What is at stake is freedom for LGBTQ Americans, for equal rights, civil rights..." <p>Updated: Wed Sep 05, 2018</p> d5654b3fdb26351c4dd24c21c46f84fe Social Media Censorship II for 08/29/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/18/social-media-censorship-ii Wed, 29 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Are those who question the severity of global warming worse than Nazis? I wouldn't think so, but YouTube, owned by Google, seems to. </p> <p>I wrote last week that YouTube added a Wikipedia link about global warming to videos like ones I do about climate change. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 29, 2018</p> 228e452b8c0519c8ae9f4fd3e130206e Social Media Trickery for 08/22/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/18/social-media-trickery Wed, 22 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>YouTube just added an "information panel" to all my videos about climate change. </p> <p>We at Stossel TV do weekly videos on&#160;<a href="https://youtu.be/YydE0IGKPXw " target="_blank">many controversial topics</a>, but apparently YouTube thinks climate change is special. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 22, 2018</p> 601e95bb31ab108138662085ea78f788 Social Security Fails for 08/15/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/18/social-security-fails Wed, 15 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Social Security is running out of money. </p> <p>You may not believe that, but it's a fact. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 15, 2018</p> 445fc21ea7ad0ad86c25a7de40454458 Ignorant Sanders for 08/08/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/18/ignorant-sanders Wed, 08 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Sen. Bernie Sanders is all over the internet! </p> <p>New York Magazine says he is "quietly building a digital media empire." <p>Updated: Wed Aug 08, 2018</p> d41d8b6308019040ca7c1212935354e3 Working for Tips for 08/01/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/working-for-tips Wed, 01 Aug 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Union protestors and celebrity advocates have decided that waiters' tips aren't big enough. </p> <p>They are upset that in&#160;<a href="https://www.dol.gov/whd/state/tipped.htm" target="_blank">43 states,</a>&#160;tipped workers can be paid a lower minimum wage, as low as $2.13 an hour. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 01, 2018</p> 78f58169235d72db7dbb59263bd31fab Less-Communist Cuba for 07/25/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/less-communist-cuba Wed, 25 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>While self-proclaimed "democratic socialists" win Democratic primaries in America, actual socialists in Cuba are finally backing away from some of the ideas that kept Cubans poor.</p> <p>Sunday, Cuba's National Assembly approved a draft of a new constitution that recognizes a right to own private property. That's progress. Would Senator Bernie Sanders and celebrity-of-the-moment Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez approve? I'm not sure.<p>Updated: Wed Jul 25, 2018</p> 611cde46b84d34080e7fe2fb77a43b95 Banning Straws for 07/18/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/banning-straws Wed, 18 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Want to sip a refreshing beverage this summer? </p> <p>If environmental zealots and sycophants get their way, you won't be allowed to sip it through a plastic straw. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 18, 2018</p> 2427ca4c2890ce02d8699980f28488c8 Dads Needed for 07/11/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/dads-needed Wed, 11 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Warren Farrell was once considered a feminist leader. He hung around with Gloria Steinem and wrote about why men and women should break out of rigid old gender roles. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 11, 2018</p> bc4c8c54b96c6afd5823034cef265875 One Nation, Many Individuals for 07/04/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/18/one-nation-many-individuals Wed, 04 Jul 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>We celebrate the Fourth of July because that's the day the Declaration of Independence was signed, 242 years ago. You might call July 4 America's birthday. </p> <p>The Declaration didn't just declare our independence from Britain; it vowed to create a government that respected all people's rights to "life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness." <p>Updated: Wed Jul 04, 2018</p> f527f6780152133b6e4aa34fe8657d52 Shut Up, They Explain for 06/27/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/18/shut-up-they-explain Wed, 27 Jun 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>I'm not surprised that mobs shriek at Trump administration officials in restaurants and that Maxine Waters wants more of that. I've watched this happen at American colleges. </p> <p>One example: <p>Updated: Wed Jun 27, 2018</p> bf3301764ad77f4ba1e96f35eee7ca9a Chinese Big Brother for 06/20/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/18/chinese-big-brother Wed, 20 Jun 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Upset because Facebook and Google invade your privacy? Be glad you don't live in China. </p> <p>Facebook and other Western apps are banned there. The government views their openness as a threat. So the Chinese use platforms like WeChat and Alibaba. <p>Updated: Wed Jun 20, 2018</p> 40ad33e7de991970b24e54eec7658493 Patriarchy Defender for 06/13/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/18/patriarchy-defender Wed, 13 Jun 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>"Shame on you! Shame on you!" chanted protestors after psychology professor Jordan Peterson said he'd refuse to obey a law that would require everyone to call people by the pronoun they prefer &#8212; pronouns like "ze" instead of "he" or "she." <p>Updated: Wed Jun 13, 2018</p> be469d4f658f0c67753ef65086494e95 Crony Developments for 06/06/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/18/crony-developments Wed, 06 Jun 2018 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>"Are you on the take?" <p>Updated: Wed Jun 06, 2018</p>