John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Sat, 19 Aug 2017 11:09:49 -0700 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 8aa27a7d4959a029e52950397d7fd35d Google Women for 08/16/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/17/google-women Wed, 16 Aug 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Why aren't there more women criminals?! Men in jail outnumber women by a ratio of 14-to-1. We male stutterers outnumber women, too.</p> <p>This isn't fair! We need more affirmative action! These disparities must be caused by sex discrimination because everyone knows there are no real differences between genders.<p>Updated: Wed Aug 16, 2017</p> 263b7f4ca3c9b585c4d856e73320de2e Regulating Guns for 08/09/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/17/regulating-guns Wed, 09 Aug 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Have a gun license? Plan to bring your gun to my hometown? Don't. </p> <p>Mean New York authorities will make your life miserable. <p>Updated: Wed Aug 09, 2017</p> 48bb4cf1f66e8b00629f705063767e26 The Trump Budget for 08/02/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/08/17/the-trump-budget Wed, 02 Aug 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Remember President Trump's "terrible" budget cuts?</p> <p>"Promises Little but Pain," warned The New York Times.<p>Updated: Wed Aug 02, 2017</p> d0032048a40c458af365de26efad1f9a $2 Million Bathroom for 07/26/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/17/2-million-bathroom Wed, 26 Jul 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Did you see the $2 million dollar bathroom? That's what New York City government spent to build a "comfort station" in a park. </p> <p>I went to look at it. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 26, 2017</p> ddfd3ac391091eac931ecbc2cf91c813 Loving Animals to Death for 07/19/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/17/loving-animals-to-death Wed, 19 Jul 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>We need to sell more rhino horns, quickly. </p> <p>That may be the only way to save rhinos from extinction. Today, rhinos vanish because poachers kill them for their horns. Businesses turn their horns into ornaments or quack health potions. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 19, 2017</p> 5e2e894b1d5e003933664988f8f18016 Stupid Hostile Media for 07/12/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/17/stupid-hostile-media Wed, 12 Jul 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>President Donald Trump drives people crazy. </p> <p>Especially those in the media. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 12, 2017</p> 0ffe62771bf73ba3c73943a7aebd16f1 Independence for 07/05/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/07/17/independence Wed, 05 Jul 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Did you think about the signing of the Declaration of Independence this week? </p> <p>The July 4 holiday is meant to honor that, not just fireworks. Ironically, government's grown so much since 1776 that fireworks might be illegal in your town. <p>Updated: Wed Jul 05, 2017</p> a9cb127e2d65b388755a99917f1a5397 School Inc. for 06/28/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/17/school-inc Wed, 28 Jun 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Every year, almost every industry improves.</p> <p>We get more choices &#8212; usually better choices, for less money.<p>Updated: Wed Jun 28, 2017</p> 1104e800d995f2b6d14fffc24bac210c 'Stingy' Jeff Bezos for 06/21/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/17/stingy-jeff-bezos Wed, 21 Jun 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Thursday, right before Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos announced he'd acquire Whole Foods for $13.7 billion, he tweeted a "request for ideas" for "philanthropy strategy." If you have suggestions re "helping people in the here and now... reply to this tweet." </p> <p>Here's my reply: Don't do it, Jeff! <p>Updated: Wed Jun 21, 2017</p> 715875ce5e39b03d9e3949a96607f2b7 Fly Better for 06/14/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/17/fly-better Wed, 14 Jun 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Wonder why your flight is late?</p> <p>Why planes keep circling?<p>Updated: Wed Jun 14, 2017</p> ff618289130646cabae44247b65f0da9 Prosperity Cities for 06/07/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/06/17/prosperity-cities Wed, 07 Jun 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Lovers of socialism didn't like my column last week. I wrote that Venezuela's collapse shows the cluelessness of celebrities like Michael Moore, Oliver Stone and Noam Chomsky, who'd praised Venezuela's leader. </p> <p>Chomsky called me "an utter coward" for mocking him and said he expected "an abject apology." <p>Updated: Wed Jun 07, 2017</p> 810248a6afe7aea1367205e759edd68a Chomsky's Venezuela Lesson for 05/31/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/chomskys-venezuela-lesson Wed, 31 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Venezuela descends into chaos. Its people, once the wealthiest in Latin America, starve. Even The New York Times runs headlines like "Dying Infants and No Medicine." </p> <p>My Venezuelan-born friend Kenny says his relatives are speaking differently. Cousins who once answered "Fine" or "Good" when asked, "How are you?" now say, "We're eating." <p>Updated: Wed May 31, 2017</p> ffabe7cb461e66c8d9ddb8e6ba1106c5 Times' Green Baloney for 05/24/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/times-green-baloney Wed, 24 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The New York Times' hostility to industry gets worse every day.</p> <p>Last week, the Times ran a big picture of a bay in Alaska with the headline "In Reversal, E.P.A. Eases Path for a Mine Near Alaska's Bristol Bay."<p>Updated: Wed May 24, 2017</p> 9234003265e09cab33a6c325a0b9c282 Cruel and Stupid for 05/17/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/cruel-and-stupid Wed, 17 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p>President Trump's attorney general, Jeff Sessions, ordered federal prosecutors to seek maximum penalties for drug-related crimes. </p> <p>This is both cruel and stupid. </p> <p>It's cruel because Session's 5,000 prosecutors must now push for long jail sentences even for people who pose no violent threat and for some who are utterly innocent. <p>Updated: Wed May 17, 2017</p> 7558e43bccc6aebe10da99853750221c Improved Health Bill for 05/10/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/improved-health-bill Wed, 10 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The House repealed Obamacare! </p> <p>OK, they didn't really &#8212; but they passed a bill that repeals some bad parts of it, like the individual mandate tax, medicine cabinet tax, flexible spending account tax and health savings account withdrawal tax. Good. <p>Updated: Wed May 10, 2017</p> 50bfb218ef631d8bc66b8992dfa27dbc Break the Chains for 05/03/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/05/17/break-the-chains Wed, 03 May 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>My head spins.</p> <p>Before President Trump was elected, FCC Commissioner Ajit Pai came on my TV show, upset because President Obama ordered his agency to regulate the internet.<p>Updated: Wed May 03, 2017</p> 33631c61d70d7fc8ab04f1eba0b2b5be The Next President for 04/26/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/17/the-next-president-89a9a Wed, 26 Apr 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p></p><p>Will Donald Trump be re-elected in 2020?<p>Updated: Wed Apr 26, 2017</p> 4d7ee30820cc4315c1f70cdc10f8c681 Earth Day Dopes for 04/19/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/17/earth-day-dopes Wed, 19 Apr 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Expect more craziness this weekend. Earth Day is Saturday. This year's theme: Government must "do more" about climate change because "consequences of inaction are too high to risk."</p> <p>They make it sound so simple: <p>Updated: Wed Apr 19, 2017</p> d8c5bb17b7dbe74378d67fe7fb564917 Warrior Trump for 04/12/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/17/warrior-trump Wed, 12 Apr 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Somehow, firing Tomahawk missiles at Syria suddenly changed people's opinions of President Trump. Now they call him a "serious" leader. </p> <p>William Kristol said Trump's action "reassures you." <p>Updated: Wed Apr 12, 2017</p> 00017961865c4f766fdbb3cd8fe0bfb0 Enough Protection Already for 04/05/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/04/17/enough-protection-already Wed, 05 Apr 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>"Trump may have just signed a death warrant for our planet!" warns CNN host Van Jones.</p> <p>"Disaster for Clean Water, Air," says the Environmental Working Group.<p>Updated: Wed Apr 05, 2017</p>