John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel Creators Syndicate is an international syndication company that represents cartoonists and columnists of the highest caliber. en Sun, 25 Feb 2018 17:39:59 -0800 https://www.creators.com/ http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss John Stossel from Creators Syndicate https://cdn.creators.com/features/john-stossel-thumb.jpg https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel 0e7dac8593d599639cae06e75adbad8a Pay Your Dues! for 02/21/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/18/pay-your-dues Wed, 21 Feb 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p>If your workplace is a union shop, are you <i> forced </i> to pay union dues? Next week, the Supreme Court will hear arguments about that.</p> <p>When I worked at CBS and ABC, I was ordered to join the American Federation of Radio and TV Artists. That union had won a vote that gave them the right to speak for all reporters. I said, "I'm no 'artist.' I'm a reporter! I won't join!" But my bosses said they couldn't pay me unless I did. </p> <p>In right-to-work states, unions can't force people to join. But only 28 states are right to work. Aging socialist bureaucracies like New York state are not among them. <p>Updated: Wed Feb 21, 2018</p> b8f7b67673d2a6b95c407661630ec954 Success Academy for 02/14/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/18/success-academy Wed, 14 Feb 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Kids who attend New York City's Success Academy charter schools do remarkably well. </p> <p>"We are No. 1 in student achievement in the state," says founder Eva Moskowitz, "outperforming all the wealthy suburbs." <p>Updated: Wed Feb 14, 2018</p> 574c37155630df1b066ef633545c97ec Silk Road for 02/07/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/02/18/silk-road Wed, 07 Feb 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Ross Ulbricht was a quiet nerd &#8212; an Eagle Scout who never cursed.</p> <p>Then he became a libertarian, and he decided, "I want to use economic theory as a means to abolish the use of coercion." <p>Updated: Wed Feb 07, 2018</p> ef27c88151701cef991bd67843b6024d Freedom Ranking for 01/31/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/freedom-ranking Wed, 31 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Is America the world's freest country? Sadly, no. </p> <p>When researchers first started doing detailed international comparisons, the USA came in second or third. This year, however, we ranked 17th. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 31, 2018</p> 2dc7ff7667187f251ea7615696a2353d Keep It Closed! for 01/24/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/keep-it-closed Wed, 24 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>The government is open again. That's too bad. </p> <p>One day, one of these shutdowns should be permanent. We would still have far more government than the Founding Fathers envisioned. <p>Updated: Wed Jan 24, 2018</p> b174725affda876f00d23d01c1f07329 Selling Hate for 01/17/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/selling-hate Wed, 17 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Who will warn Americans about hate groups? The media know: the Southern Poverty Law Center. </p> <p>SPLC, based in Alabama, calls itself "the premier" group monitoring hate. Give us money, they say, and they will "fight the hate that thrives in our country." <p>Updated: Wed Jan 17, 2018</p> 68804105ace950614c9bfda8fcc76a8f Punish Poor People for 01/10/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/punish-poor-people Wed, 10 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Store owner Kamal Saleh was just hit with thousands of dollars in fines. </p> <p>His crime? He sold three cigars for $8.89. "Too cheap!" say New York City bureaucrats. "The cigars should have cost 11 cents more." <p>Updated: Wed Jan 10, 2018</p> c88c1843a72af55b2ac437f7745fcc2a Election Odds for 01/03/2018 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/01/18/election-odds Wed, 03 Jan 2018 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p></p><p>President Trump is up 3 percent! <p>Updated: Wed Jan 03, 2018</p> efdab5520724f7f2f8d21ba1b5dc7139 Deadly Isms for 12/20/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/17/deadly-isms Wed, 20 Dec 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>People want politics to be simple. Left vs. right. Clinton vs. Trump. My side vs. your side. Elect the right guy, and things will be good!</p> <p>The truth is more complicated.<p>Updated: Wed Dec 20, 2017</p> 271985619367cef347bf52b86a816fc8 Liberate Food Trucks for 12/13/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/17/liberate-food-trucks Wed, 13 Dec 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Laura Pekarik bakes cupcakes and sells them from a food truck. Her truck provided a great opportunity, letting her open a business without having to spend big to hire a staff and rent space in a building. </p> <p>"Instead of renting a whole brick and mortar and managing a team of people, it was just me and one baker," she explains. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 13, 2017</p> 6ae62afa17c882ad833cba4c5569103f I Hate The New York Times for 12/06/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/12/17/i-hate-the-new-york-times Wed, 06 Dec 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>My hometown paper drives me crazy. </p> <p>I read The New York Times because it often has good coverage. The newspaper pays to send reporters to dangerous places all around the world. <p>Updated: Wed Dec 06, 2017</p> 60417dc266b84748836694ce8ebe4be4 The Evil Rich for 11/29/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/17/the-evil-rich Wed, 29 Nov 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>As Republicans struggle to agree on a tax plan, Democrats and much of the media label each attempt at reform a "gift" to rich people.</p> <p>In one sense, they are right. Any tax cut disproportionately favors rich people since the rich pay much more tax.<p>Updated: Wed Nov 29, 2017</p> 8e00e48d32c855751b9eb1bacf8426f4 Thankful for Property for 11/22/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/17/thankful-for-property-f2409 Wed, 22 Nov 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Ready for Thanksgiving? Before you eat that turkey, I hope you think about why America has turkeys for you to eat. Most people don't know.</p> <p>Everyone's heard about that first Thanksgiving feast &#8212; Pilgrims and Indians sharing the harvest. We like the drawings of it we saw in schoolbooks &#8212; shared bounty.<p>Updated: Wed Nov 22, 2017</p> 94e39467175d41dc64c4a409a39dc96a Legalize Sex Work for 11/15/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/17/legalize-sex-work Wed, 15 Nov 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>Who owns our bodies? I think, we do.</p> <p>Therefore, once we're, say, 18, we ought to have the right to rent our bodies to someone else.<p>Updated: Wed Nov 15, 2017</p> 7d1de82d1448bff5fe239fbd67a7c9b7 Simpler Tax Simplification for 11/08/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/11/17/simpler-tax-simplification Wed, 08 Nov 2017 00:00:00 -0800 <p></p><p>As you read this, President Trump's tax plan is being debated. Congress will change it. Where this ends, no one knows. </p> <p>I want two things: <p>Updated: Wed Nov 08, 2017</p> 88c0104cb36a8ad604f877d79283de7a Communism Turns 100 for 11/01/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/17/communism-turns-100 Wed, 01 Nov 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>This year marks the hundredth anniversary of one of the worst mistakes ever made: the Communist revolution in Russia. </p> <p>Communist regimes went on to kill about 100 million people. Most died in famines after socialist tyrants forced people to practice inefficient collective farming. Millions of others were executed in political purges. <p>Updated: Wed Nov 01, 2017</p> cf9bc7fa4a70182a0d087a5bde9c0c82 A Private Military for 10/25/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/17/a-private-military Wed, 25 Oct 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>We've fought in Afghanistan for 16 years now. Are we making progress?</p> <p>After 9/11, we invaded, overthrew the Taliban, killed Osama Bin Laden and &#8212; stayed. Afghanistan is now America's longest war, ever.<p>Updated: Wed Oct 25, 2017</p> 5d39c482fb05ce3e955e5cbd42c830a7 A CNN Smear for 10/18/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/17/a-cnn-smear Wed, 18 Oct 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>Did you happen to catch CNN's latest smear?</p> <p>Anderson Cooper's show recently featured a "two-part exclusive" that claims Donald Trump's EPA director had conspired with the CEO of a mining company to "withdraw environmental restrictions" so the company could dig "the largest open pit mine in the world in an extremely sensitive watershed in wild Alaska."<p>Updated: Wed Oct 18, 2017</p> e54af10ca1d5135665b8c70c44b2209e Let Them Leave for 10/11/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/17/let-them-leave Wed, 11 Oct 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The United States was born when the Founding Fathers seceded from England. </p> <p>So why do so many people now see secession as a terrible thing? <p>Updated: Wed Oct 11, 2017</p> 23b5a64c43db3d1b52c3bef2c06f43fb Get Out of the Way for 10/04/2017 https://www.creators.com/read/john-stossel/10/17/get-out-of-the-way Wed, 04 Oct 2017 00:00:00 -0700 <p></p><p>The hurricane devastation is severe. What should the federal government do?</p> <p>Give us lots of money, say many.<p>Updated: Wed Oct 04, 2017</p>